Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Trainer trim scheme brainstorming. Show me yours?

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Trainer trim scheme brainstorming. Show me yours?

Old 06-20-2004, 11:57 AM
brsseb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trainer trim scheme brainstorming. Show me yours?

In between the gluing and sanding, ive begun to plan the trim scheme for my GreatPlanes PT-40. Was wondering if anyone got some pics of their PT-40 (or any boxed-shape trainer) so I can get some ideas. Im a beginner in coting, so i cant do anything advanced.

Here are my suggestions so far:

And my favorite so far (red or blue..):

Do they seem hard to make? Ive only used simple lines and basic stuff like triangles that can be cut out easily, I hope. I only got an old ironer (for clothes, i dont have a modeller iron), hope it wont be too hard to make.

Any comments/suggestions would be welcome.
Old 06-20-2004, 12:20 PM
davidmor

Default RE: Trainer trim scheme brainstorming. Show me yours?

The biggest thing you need to keep in mind is to make the top and bottom look extremely different. I suggest a light color on top and dark on the bottom. I put wide stripes on the wing top, and big circles on the bottom of the wing. Since you are learning, it is much more important that you are able to tell the difference from top and bottom, than how good the plane looks. One other thing I did with mine was to put a bright flame orange strip on the leading edge of one wing. That makes it easy to see if it is coming towards you or away from you, and it also helps in the beginning with the direction reversal coordination you will need to learn. I know this is your 'baby' and you want it to look cool, but it is also a trainer. It is ment to learn on and it will get banged around. The simpler the pattern you use, the simpler it will be to patch when needed.