Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

Reply

Old 06-25-2004, 08:56 PM
  #1  
spokman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

Did any of you have problems with your CA hinges because the trailing edge of the wing is only 1/4" thick? I'm concernced that there isn't very much wood for them to attach to. Was going to use Robart hinges but that doesn't seem like enough wood even if you back it? Maybe I'm just being paranoid. Did any of you add wood behind the TE for the hinges? Do any of you wish you had?

Thanks!
spokman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2004, 10:06 PM
  #2  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I've never built an SE, but if the TE is only 1/4" thick as you say, I'd add some balsa hinge blocks to back them up.
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2004, 11:01 PM
  #3  
Sport Flyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Sport Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portage La Prairie, MB, CANADA
Posts: 406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

Just follow the instructions. No real need to mod anything to get a long living plane out of a SE, provided you don't dork it of course. Mine has literally hundreds of flights and is built stock except for a bit of a larger rudder. The only time the aileron hinges has proven to be a problem was after a midair when two pulled out but the third didn't and it was pretty much dragging the aileron behind.

______________________


See my planes here!
Sport Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2004, 11:13 PM
  #4  
spokman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

We have one add wood vote and one keep it as is. How about you other SE builders?

Minn, Yeh, it only has 1/4" on the TE to put the hinges in unless I really did something wrong!
spokman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2004, 11:32 PM
  #5  
Phil Cole
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 762
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I built one when they first came out. I still have it. I didn't add anything anywhere. I haven't had any problems that weren't operator-induced.
Phil Cole is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2004, 06:47 AM
  #6  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I'll add another "leave it alone". It is fine as is with the CA hinges. Mine had well over 100 flights before I crashed it. A friend rebuilt it, and is still flying it nearly 4 years later. The only mods I think the plane needs is to Side mount the engine to avoid the goo from hitting the wing / fuze joint, and moving the c.g. back considerably from the recommmended spot.

Great plane, I will build another.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2004, 07:35 AM
  #7  
rjbarthel
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 276
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I built mine by the book and am very happy !! lotsa flights and not one problem !! sure love the SE
rjbarthel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 03:43 AM
  #8  
spokman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

Decided to add some wood backing to the TE at the hinge points. Can't hurt. 1/4" just doesn't seem enough. Thanks all!
spokman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 09:32 AM
  #9  
Sport Flyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Sport Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portage La Prairie, MB, CANADA
Posts: 406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

Four guys who've built the friggin' thing said 'leave it'. Good decision!
Sport Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 10:28 AM
  #10  
spokman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

Some people always follow the plans to the T. Others modify as they build. Guess I'm a modder. For the grand addition of a couple of grams I know my hinges won't pull out.
spokman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 08:33 PM
  #11  
Taildrager-inactive
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oregon, IL
Posts: 917
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I used ultrakote hinges on all surfaces and have over 400 flights on my SE. Retired that tired bird and building another next week with the new Saito .82 for power.
Taildrager-inactive is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 02:58 PM
  #12  
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)
 
JWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 6,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

ORIGINAL: Sport Flyer

Four guys who've built the friggin' thing said 'leave it'. Good decision!
That's one of the wonderful things about this hobby. There are so many ways to do something the RIGHT way. If you prefer to add a little extra wood to make you feel comfortable, go for it. It won't hurt a single thing.

John

PS, I used Robart hinges on my S.E. and added a 1/4" block for each hinge in the wing T.E. too.
JWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 08:40 PM
  #13  
phread59
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: coal township, PA
Posts: 1,483
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I will add one for the extra wood. I am building the RCM advanced trainer from plans. Same set up, 1/4" TE and they want CA hinges. I added some 1/4" square stock. I am however going to use Robart Hingepoints. I never tried them. So I am going to try them on this one. Gonna try somethin new for grins and giggles.

Mark Shuman
phread59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 09:12 PM
  #14  
spokman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

It's all good!! I might Robart it to. Did you use the 1/8" hinges? I've got a bag of them. Used them on the trainer. Really liked them but need a custom jig or drill press to really get those holes right. Maybe I'll design one and sell it, : )
spokman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 10:19 PM
  #15  
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)
 
JWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 6,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

Robart makes a drill jig for their hinges. Check it out, it works very nicely.

John
JWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 09:21 PM
  #16  
bullfrog
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Teresa, NM
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

i added small 1/4 inch blocks to each area, and put robart hinges (1/8th). I ended up with zero gap between the wing and aileron and incredible deflection. I also used 1/4 inch triangle stock on the ailerons instead of beveling them, saved tones of time and is perfact. Also the robart hinge guide is a must, it makes it easyer than the ca stuff.
bullfrog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 07:15 PM
  #17  
spokman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I've got the guide but am wanting something a little better!! Agree that they are great hinges!
spokman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 08:20 PM
  #18  
blw
My Feedback: (3)
 
blw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Opelika, AL
Posts: 9,447
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I haven't built one yet, but the guys at the field are building them and taking out wood. I saw one last week with a rib removed and the ply wing root ribs, probably r-1 and r-3, were substituted with balsa. It also had the ply in front of the turtledeck subbed with balsa. He also ran the hinged top from the engine to the canopy, so you can open it up to everything. It flies well, but won't take much in the way of hard landings or crashes. They build them to fly light over strength.
blw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 08:56 PM
  #19  
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)
 
JWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 6,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I would seriously recommend against swapping the ply ribs for balsa. These ribs are the ones that have the most load placed on them by the wing tube. If you do sub the outboard rib for balsa, at least place a small ply doubler on it over the area where the tube goes through it. If you use balsa on the root, the rib will be far more likely to bow when you shrink the covering. Replacing the ply in front of the turtle deck will net you so little weight loss as to be not worth it IMHO unless you just like cutting new parts. You would do more to save weight and improve the flight performance by cutting lightening holes in the ribs, replacing the tail wood if your kit has heavy stock as mine did and using a thin braided cable for the tail braces instead of solid rods. If you do lighten the tail, I would move the elevator and rudder servos to the rear half of the fuse. These models are known for ending up nose heavy and you don't want to add lead to make up for all of the lightening you performed. With a YS .63 in the nose of my S.E., I still had to add an once of lead to the tail even though my tail wood was heavy and I used solid 1/16" wire for tail braces.

John
JWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:52 PM
  #20  
blw
My Feedback: (3)
 
blw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Opelika, AL
Posts: 9,447
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I haven't built one yet, but this is what a couple of people are doing in the club. They want lightness over much strength and view the SE as disposable if crashed. I'll build mine stock when I get down my list of kits that I want to build. Come to think of it, all of the SE's at my club are using 2 strokes.
blw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:15 PM
  #21  
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)
 
JWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 6,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I wish I had the time and money to build disposable models. I do everything I can to be sure they are going to stay together for as long as possible.

Actually, aren't they all disposable whether crashed or not? :-)

John
JWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 09:26 AM
  #22  
blw
My Feedback: (3)
 
blw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Opelika, AL
Posts: 9,447
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

They use the SE as a warmup plane for their bigger ones, like gassers. Also, they have built them a number of times and can build one in a few days.
blw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 11:03 AM
  #23  
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)
 
JWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 6,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I can crank this kit out in about two days myself, but I prefer to take my time and make it pretty

John
JWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 12:45 PM
  #24  
spokman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I'm not telling you all how long it's taking me !!

I'm using poly glue a lot on it and haven't used it that much in the past. Also some of the directions say do this or that and I'm modifying it to be easier. Such as the rounded sheeting on the wings. Mine is square. Also didn't sand the TE to match the rib taper. Just let the poly glue gap fill it straight from the rib to the back of the TE. Figure it won't affect it much and is easier. Maybe I'm working up to be a 2 day builder on one of these to!! Nah, but maybe a 7 day build or so after this one is done.
spokman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 01:51 PM
  #25  
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)
 
JWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 6,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig SE CA Hinge Ailerons

I used poly glue to attach the stab (big mistake due to the mess it made) and to install the hinges. Be careful there as well as it really likes to foam up and bind the hinges. For the wing T.E., you will find the wing will be slightly thicker than the ailerons if you don't sand the T.E. before installing the sheeting. This won't be a problem for a model like the S.E., but I wouldn't do it on something that's more precise like a pattern ship. For the rounded center section sheeting, I installed the sheeting square, marked the rounded outline and buzzed it to shape with my dremel. I just like making lots of dust

It took me more than two days to actually build mine, but I kept track of the total hours and it was right on 20.

John
JWN is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service