Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Suggestions for first build

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Suggestions for first build

Old 07-26-2004, 07:40 PM
macaddicted

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suggestions for first build

Greetings,

I am just beginning in R/C airplanes, and thinking already about building a plane. I currently have little flight experience but I would like to build something that would serve both as a good second plane (I currently have a NexStar) for when I get better at flying, and as an introduction to building. From what I have seen so far looking through catalogs and on the web I think I would like to begin with a kit. The scale planes look interesting, but I'm guessing are a poor choice for a first build. I think I would like to keep the size around .40-.60, but I'm open to suggestions.

Information on what equipment I should have on hand would be appreciated, as would suggestions for books or web sites that could be of use.

Thanks
Old 07-26-2004, 07:55 PM
Irish R.Seer
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Suggestions for first build

The Sig Four Star series of kits,(40 or 60 size), are an easy first kit to build and are also great fliers. With these kits you will need the bare minimum of tools, i.e. balsa knife set, razor saw, drill with various bits, glues,ca and epoxy. For finishing you'll need an iron and heat gun if you intend to use the iron on covering. Good luck

Bill
Old 07-26-2004, 07:57 PM
TexAg78

I built a Sig 4*40 for my first kit. It was a great build, but I personally didn't care for it's flight characteristics at the time (I would probably like it better now). I understand the Sig Mid Star is another great choice, and probably a better 2nd plane because of its mid wing design. It looks like it would build similarly to the 4*. I'm sure you'll get lots of other good suggestions as well.
Old 07-27-2004, 06:17 AM