Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Top Flite Contender

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Top Flite Contender

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2004, 05:42 PM
Tomcat_AL200

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top Flite Contender

I hope to come in to possession of a TF Contender kit soon, and I would like to hear some of your comments on the kit, how it builds, how it flies, which wingtip to use, ect. Also, I plan on using my OS .61 FX for power.
Thanks for the comments
Old 12-06-2004, 08:10 PM
2slow2matter
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Top Flite Contender

Tomcat, I just got my kit in. Looks like quality stuff. However, I've not had time to build it yet. My father and I are going to build it over the Christmas break (I am a teacher/coach). So, we'll start it a week from this coming Saturday (or Sunday, whenever). I can't wait. from looking through the instruction book, it looks pretty straight forward. I'm going to use the turned up (new style) wing tip to prevent roll coupling. I'm powering mine with a Saito FA 100 (overkill, I know, but I'm going to use it because I love 4 strokes. I thought about buying a .72 for it, but I'm not made out of money, and I know for sure I don't want a .72 on my p51 that I'm building this spring. The contender is going to be my low wing trainer. Once the spring comes, I'm taking that 100 out and putting it into a warbird (p51, p47, something like that). That's why I went with the 100--so I could use it in a later project. At that time, I'll put either my vmax .52 (If I have it back!), or an ev 46, or buy some other cheap 2 stroke for it. Those are my plans, anyway! Do a search for contender, and you will find several threads about building one. I can't wait to build and fly it!
Old 12-06-2004, 09:25 PM
campbec

Hi,