Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Monokote is crap

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Monokote is crap

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2002, 04:26 PM
ecoliburger
My Feedback: (18)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Monokote is crap

Ive been building and flying for over ten years. I have always wondered why Monokote is so popular. In my opinon it is one of the worst coverings made. Constantly needs reshrinking and comes off with fuel etc. Am I way off or do other people think this stuff is crap??
Old 09-05-2002, 07:14 PM
rcpilotsteve-RCU
My Feedback: (5)

Default Monokote is crap

I covered my 60 size warplane with Silver Ultracoat, had a great time with it only seams are on top and bottom center. The top seam is pinstriped so the Plane pretty much looks painted. I just bought a roll of white Monokote. There is a huge difference with the way the Monokote goes on and it's not for the better. Either way I bet you'll have a great looking plane.
Utracoat has my vote.
Old 09-05-2002, 08:04 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Monokote is crap

I like Ultracote too. Won't ever use MonkeyKote again.
Old 09-09-2002, 12:43 AM
Dago Red
My Feedback: (11)

Default Monokote is crap

Monokote is the only thing I use. It only comes off when you have oil on you wood-- you might want to check your wood. Ive used all other coverings and as far as im concered its all crap--that crap sig makes-weather is still made--i hate that stuff.you have to use lots of heat to use monokote--not low heat ,look into that to. and shink you monokote to the point where it wont strech any more ,but dont melt.
Old 09-09-2002, 04:49 AM
Cdallas2

Default Monokote is crap