Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

CG Ultimate or GP Super Skybolt?

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

CG Ultimate or GP Super Skybolt?

Old 05-22-2005, 01:07 PM
Oly

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default CG Ultimate or GP Super Skybolt?

I am going to build one of these two biplanes, but I just can't decide which one. Please help me out and offer advice/information if you have experience with these airplanes. I like to fly aerobatics, but not I'm not experienced with 3-D. I also want to put a powerful 4 stroke in the plane, but keep the weight down for maximum thrust to weight. (Don't we all!) Conclusions I've drawn so far:

1. The Carl Goldberg Ultimate seems to build lighter than the Great Planes Super Skybolt yet they are both rated for the same engine range.
2. The fuel tank seems easier to get at for maintenance in the Ultimate than it is in the Skybolt.
3. The landing gear on the Skybolt seems more robust than the Ultimate. (Important for my somewhat less than graceful landings!)

Questions:
1. Does the Ultimate fly better than the Skybolt in terms of aerobatics or are they the same?
2. Which 4 stroke will give the best power to weight? How big of an engine could I go with and still keep the wing loading reasonable?
(1.2, 1.5 ???) Prop clearance will be an issue if I "supersize" the engine.

Thanks for any input you all care to give!
Old 05-22-2005, 01:39 PM
tarvma02
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CG Ultimate or GP Super Skybolt?