Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Bent Main Spar

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Bent Main Spar

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2005, 08:23 PM
joeydonutz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bent Main Spar

Just starting a 4*60 and noticed that the main spars for the wings not only have bows in them but they are hooked pretty bad. I know that I can work with the bows by matching them top and bottom with the bows facing each other but what about a hook in the spar? Can I work with it, bend it, pin it down? My intuition says to replace them but I don't want to shell out the money if I don't have to. I'm including a pic of just how bad it is.

I'd also like to say "thanks!" to all for the great posts. I'm a semi-new builder and I've learned a lot from the members here. Your experiences are well appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl29077.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	296978  
Old 07-13-2005, 08:36 PM
Redback

Default RE: Bent Main Spar

Go with your intuition.

Better to spend a few $$$ now than have a plane that doesn't fly as well as it should. The 4*60 doesn't have a sheeted LE that could help to lock the wing straight.

My $0.02 worth

Terry
Old 07-13-2005, 08:58 PM
Lightfoot
My Feedback: (1)

You could easily get new spars from Sig just by letting them know of the problem. Personally, I would go to the LHS so I could pick out the pieces I want to use. The spars are the pieces that I absolutely would not use if they are bowed. You can work around just about any other piece with a bow but there would be no guarantees with a bowed spar. That would be my advice but don't forget that advice is worth exactly what you pay for it.
Old 07-13-2005, 09:28 PM
mcarleno

Warp Spars = Sorrow