Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

CA Hinge Material

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

CA Hinge Material

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2002, 07:35 PM
ramcharger

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CA Hinge Material

The last 2 times I have flown my TF (red box) P-51B Mustang, I noticed CA hinges were broken. Once, 2 of the 3 on the aileron and now 1 of 4 on the elevator. Luckly it has affected flight although I'm still mystified on the aileron. I have been using CA hinges for 9 yrs and no problem. Is some CA hinge material better than others????? Also, on this plane I made a extra efffort to minimize the gap and got thin CA on the portion of the hinge that bends. I'm sure I have done this before, anyway, is that a no-no ??????????????
Old 10-26-2002, 10:41 PM
AtomHeartMother

Yup, CA on the bending part of the hinge is a big no-no. Honestly, if you'd done this in the past, I'm surprised you hadn't lost an airplane.
The CA on the bending part of the hinge makes it stiff and brittle. It then quickly cracks right in half if deflected. Try it on a hinge before you install it as a test, you'll see what I mean.
A good trick is to mark the center of the hinge, then use Vaseline or even a wax crayon on the center of the hinge where it will bend. Install the hinge, then wick your glue in like normal. Once the glue has dried, clean off the wax or Vaseline and you're ready to go. Putting something like mentioned above on the bending portion of the hinge keeps the glue from soaking into it and making it brittle. If you think you've gotten glue on hinges of your other models..I'd take a good look at them and replace any suspect hinges. Sometimes, if you're quick the CA will pop off the hinge if you pick at it, leaving the hinge flexible.
Old 10-26-2002, 11:20 PM
TerrellFlyer