Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Begginner Build

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Begginner Build

Old 09-12-2005, 03:58 PM
JonMatula

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Begginner Build

I have never built a kit before I only have an ARF and I was wondering if any of you would be able to suggest a kit for a first timer. Including a website to purchase from would also be of great help the "local" hobby shop isnt the greatest and its almost an hour away. Nothing to hard but not to easy either. Maybe one that would be a good fly for a beginner pilot aswell. Thank you for all of your help.
Old 09-12-2005, 05:25 PM
4*

Default RE: Begginner Build

A Sig 4 *40 is a great kit for someone new in the hobby. It can be purchased online at http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXFG06&P=0
They also sell EVERYTHING you will need for the build.
Good luck!
Old 09-12-2005, 06:50 PM
abufletcher

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You'll find a lot of people seconding the recommendation for the Sig 4*40 (read "four star forty"). Good price. Can be built in as short as 5 days (3 seems to be the record). And it's apparantly an ideal second plane after a trainer.

I've certainly considered getting one myself.

Old 09-12-2005, 06:59 PM
abufletcher

BTW, can someone tell be approximately how big the box is that the Sig 4*40 comes in? Is it considerably smaller than the box for most 40-sized ARF's? I would need to be thinking about either bring one with me back to Japan or paying to have it shipped over.
Old 09-12-2005, 07:01 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

any kit box is MUCH smaller than an average ARF box
Old 09-12-2005, 07:15 PM
rjm1982