Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

New guy needs help

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

New guy needs help

Old 10-15-2005, 05:05 PM
captnem
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy needs help

Hi guys, first off I am not new to RC. I have been flying for 15 years. I am new to building when their are plans but no wood. That brings me to my question...How diffuicult would it be to build an airplane with just plans for reference? I have a very old airplane that i want to build, I have the plans, but no precut wood. I am not used to this kind of building. In other words, I have only built airplanes from kits before. Sorry if this is a dumb question... Thanks for any help

P.s. It is a Royal Cessna Citation airplane
Old 10-15-2005, 06:54 PM
abufletcher

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New guy needs help

Cutting the ribs seems to be the most tedious part. But then once you've worked out a method that doesn't take long either. I made a template out of aluminum sheet and after that it only took a single evening to cut out and sand a set of ribs.

If you think of it as a two step process of 1) making the pieces and 2) putting them together it shouldn't be much different than the kit building you've done.
Old 10-15-2005, 11:35 PM
nickj

Ordinarily, I tell people that plans-building isn't much different than building a kit. You have to cut out more of the pieces, but it all goes together pretty much the same. The only problem is, Royal kits are a little different. They tend to have a lot of little balsa blocks, all perfectly shaped and sized. No reason you can't cut them out yourself, but it'd help to have a good bench sander to make them nice and square, and I'd bet you'll still end up doing a lot of trial-and-error fitting. Might be worth it, though.
Old 10-16-2005, 01:12 PM
Dr1Driver