Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Sig Astro Hog "Engine recomendations

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Sig Astro Hog "Engine recomendations

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2005, 09:36 AM
lalaland

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sig Astro Hog "Engine recomendations

In the process of building a Sig Astro Hog.

I want an engine to get me off the grassy runway. Planning on putting an O.S. FL .70 4-Stroke on it. Will that be enough to get me off the grass? Grass is usually about 2 1/2 inches high. I also plan on doing some nice manuvers with it.

Also, on the tail dragger verson, I noticed pics of astro hogs with "aluminum" main landing gear rather than the wire gear built in the wing. Is there a reason for that? I'm not a professional builder.

Need all the help I can get.

Big Dan

Old 10-17-2005, 12:09 PM
donkey doctor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Sig Astro Hog "Engine recomendations

Hello Big Dan; There has been a lot of controversy about that FL 70 lately, with the concensus being that OS Cheaped out on it. If your happy with OS, then perhaps an older FS 70 Surpass would serve you better, or a Saito or Magnum. I have a Surp 70 that I have had for years and am happy with, but I think OS have been left behind by other engine makers. My choice would be a Saito 72.

We have an astro hog at our field running an old Merco 61, plenty of power, but too noisy.

The aluminum gear you saw on the tail dragger was probably easier to mount on the fuse then re-engineering the wing mounted tricycle gear, as the gear has to be moved forward for tail dragging, I have had to do this on a few planes to convert from tricycle gear.
Old 10-17-2005, 12:13 PM
carlgrover

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts