Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

GP Easy Sport 40 - Spar sticks above ribs

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

GP Easy Sport 40 - Spar sticks above ribs

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2006, 12:29 AM
kolban

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GP Easy Sport 40 - Spar sticks above ribs

Folks,
Newbie here again. Still working on my 1st kit build - the Great Planes Easy Sport 40. I have completed the wings and find that the spar just behind the leading edge sticks higher than the ribs. See the attached pictures.

The spar slotted into the pre-cut slots and the spar is seated all the way down in these slots.

My question is ...

Does this look ok? I am thinking ahead and when I come to cover it, shouldn't there be a smooth surface across the wings? Surely this spruce (or other hardwood) bar be flush with the tops of the ribs?

Did I make a mistake?

Should I sand the spar down to be flush with the ribs?

Looking for advice.

Neil
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57606.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	74.6 KB
ID:	426270   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr55584.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	62.5 KB
ID:	426271   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35370.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	426272  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:26 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: GP Easy Sport 40 - Spar sticks above ribs

Neil, welcome to the wonderful world of Kit Building

This is not all that uncommon, what you need to do is to cut the slots a little deeper with your hobby knife or a razor blade so that the spar sits flush with the top of the ribs.
Old 03-15-2006, 09:11 AM
kolban

Thanks for the response. Unfortunately, I have already glued the spar in place!!

Should I attempt to free it, clean the slots and re-apply or should I attempt to sand-down the spar?