Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Help a newbie kit builder

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Help a newbie kit builder

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2006, 12:26 AM
rsantrock

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help a newbie kit builder

Hi everyone. Just a quick background on me first. I have been flying for the last couple of years and own a couple of different ARF planes. This is my first kit build and am unsure where to begin. The kit is a SIG Sealane. We have a lake lot that we spend a lot of time at in the summer and I figure this will be a good way to get in some flying. Anyway I have never built one of these before. I have done some serious searching on the internet for something to help out and get me going. I am mostly unsure of what glue (Thin or Thick CA) to use where. Plus I am sure there are lots of other tips and tricks out there. Can anyone suggest a good resource on the net or a good book that might go step by step over a build? Thanks for the help.
Old 03-25-2006, 01:16 AM
tuwood

Default RE: Help a newbie kit builder

Well, you certainly found the best resource already. RCU has everything you'll need.

I personally prefer thick CA for most of my build & use Medium where I have to let the glue seep in a little. (gluing corners & stuff)
You'll find everyone has their personal preference, wood glue, CA, etc...

I would strongly suggest reading RCKen's LT-40 build thread. It's a different plane, but you couldn't find a more detailed description of how to build anywhere..
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=3439708

Good luck!
Old 03-25-2006, 07:11 AM
Dr1Driver