Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

covering materials

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

covering materials

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2002, 03:17 AM
Dogz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default covering materials

I'm very new to this kit building, the covering part I did not enjoy!!...

I do notice a big difference between coving materials.

I started to use a product called solar film it is very thin and very very hard to take the clear backing of the material if your not using an edge piece of material. The only thing is the solar film has some great colours, like metallic red..

The other material I used was PROFILM very nice extremely forgiving material with a nice wax paper on the back that is easy to take off and irons on easy and doesn't break when you pull it to hard..

Is this normal to have this difference, and after I become more experienced with covering am I likely to go back to the Sola Film or is it just crap??
Old 12-10-2002, 04:18 AM
Kevlar
My Feedback: (47)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Covering

Haven't had the pleasure of either of the materials you mentioned, but if you can get access to MonoKote, UltraKote, or the cheaper version of TowerKote, all of which are available at Towerhobbies.com, you might find the strengh and quality to be acceptable. In that order...
Old 12-10-2002, 05:31 AM
big max 1935
My Feedback: (9)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Over the last forty some years I have probably used more than twenty different makes of covering.Most all were workable.Some are suited to different types of air-craft. The coverings that are popular now have stood the tests of time. Solar film is one. Covering is like sex,your not too good at it the first time,but you don`t give up. just takes practice. big max 1935
Old 12-10-2002, 06:13 AM
Dogz