Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Wings strong enough?

Reply
Old 12-19-2002, 04:57 AM
  #1
mgrover
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wings strong enough?

I am building my first full kit (only ARF's up till now) and I am curious how strong the wing structures need to be. I have been assembling the spars and ribs by tacking in place with thin CA and then hitting them with medium CA to really bond them. Do I need to do more than this to make these structures strong enough? Do I really need to be using epoxy to join these structures?

Thanks for any help,
Matt
mgrover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 06:35 AM
  #2
LoboFlyer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wings strong enough?

That should be correct (tell me guys if I am wrong since my plane was built this way!). If you use epoxy, it will definately be very strong but you'll have a ton of extra weight.
LoboFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 06:47 AM
  #3
Flyfalcons
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wings strong enough?

Only epoxy needed in a wing is dihedral brace and the butt joint between the two halves. Use 30 min epoxy for that.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 01:16 PM
  #4
TerrellFlyer
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Terrell, TX
Posts: 1,631
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wings strong enough?

you're doing it the right way,hi stress areas only need epoxy
TerrellFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 03:19 PM
  #5
MinnFlyer
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wings strong enough?

Ditto
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2002, 12:31 PM
  #6
DIPSY
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: ASFSDFSDGAFAF, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wings strong enough?

Hi
You have put in shear webs between the top and bottom spars haven't you ?
Dave
DIPSY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 12:56 PM
  #7
aldomontoya
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Southampton, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wings strong enough?

White wood glue. strong, and soaks in, and is light weight. takes 24 hours to dry clear, but never failed me yet. CA is brittle.

Al
aldomontoya is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 05:36 PM
  #8
grippm
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jackson, TN,
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wings strong enough?

I've used a combination of CA and or carpenters glue. The CA works fine, and as noted placing your web spars correctly help. Epoxy on the wing halves only when joining. Remember, when you cover the wing ALOT of the strength will come from the covering job.
grippm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:43 PM.