Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

To Build or Not To Build; That is the Question.

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

To Build or Not To Build; That is the Question.

Old 10-29-2006, 02:11 PM
waross

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default To Build or Not To Build; That is the Question.

Ok I have had lots of experience in building both kits and scratch built from plans. I recently have bought two ARF's. Both from Hanger 9. I really enjoyed just putting these ARF's together and flying. Now it is getting cold and have always turned to building during the winter instead of flying. Now I have a dilemma. I am looking to get a Bi-plane and have decided on the Goldberg Ultimate 10 300. I am planning on putting an O.S. 1.20 AX in it for power along with Futaba 9001 servos. The question is this.....go for the kit and take my time building all winter or go with the ARF which is already to put the finishing touches on and fly. Part two is which has better materials...the kit or the ARF? Most ARF's I have seen lately are making use of better building techniques and materials. For instance the ARF's are using 1/16 thin Finland Birch Plywood for fuses where as most kits are using 3/32 or thicker balsa. Obviously the plywood is much stronger. Also making use of thin ply for formers as well. Also most of the ARF parts are laser cut which is much more precise and clean as compared to stamped balsa or Italian poplar light plywood. So let's hear your thoughts and ideas here. I would love to see kits come with the same quality parts that ARF's are being built with.

To Build the Ultimate or not to build the Ultimate and go with the ARF??????? Which shall it be????
Old 10-29-2006, 02:49 PM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: To Build or Not To Build; That is the Question.