Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Wing Jig

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2003, 08:07 PM
highvoltage
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wing Jig

Hi,
I am kinda new to the r/c thing and I am into kit building. I have seen these wing jigs. They say they help you build a good wing. Does anyone have one of these or know anything about them. I was thinking about getting one. But I want to know if they are worth it. I dont even know how they work. So if anyone can shed some light on them.
Old 01-24-2003, 08:51 PM
MikeS
My Feedback: (37)

Default Wing Jig

Most kits have jigs or techniques built into the ribs to help make the wing straight and flat. A wing jig is just something else you need to master in order to build correctly. If you are struggling with the instructions, you will have added to your worries.
Most jigs rely on two 1/4 inch holes drilled or punched into the wing ribs, exactly, I repeat exactly, in the same spot on each rib. The ribs are slid onto a dowel or other straight and stiff rods, which are then clamped parallel to each other while the spars, le and te are added. Tiny variations in location mean that the ribs are not at the same angle and /or fore/aft position relative to each other.
Look at this from Alan's RC links:

http://webpages.charter.net/rcfu/Con.../WJConstr.html

Most people who I have seen use these end up enlarging the holes in most ribs so they can get things to fit.
The best use I have seen is in scratch build, where two rib templates are made, then drilled, and the ribs are cut and sanded around these. That way is more accurate, but hard to do in pre-cut ribs. Add taper, sweep, tip reflex etc and it gets complicated. There is a commercial unit out that tries to take on all the issues, and does well, but many folks who have them who are not repeat commercial builders let them sit idle in a corner.