Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

ARF then Kit, or straight to Kit?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

ARF then Kit, or straight to Kit?

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2007, 08:07 PM
jolson88

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ARF then Kit, or straight to Kit?

I'm just getting started with R/C Airplanes. I am getting started with flying by getting a Hangar 9 Arrow RTF. However, I'm trying to plan out some future planes. I figured for my second plane I would do a Sig 4 * ARF. And then, perhaps build another trainer from a kit (like a Sig LT-40 or Great Planes PT-40). This trainer wouldn't necessarily be for me, but for friends that are wanting to get into R/C airplanes.

Is this a good way to go? Would it be too much to go straight into kit building by building my second plane (the 4 *) from a kit? In other words, should I "get a feel" for R/C airplane building more by doing some ARFs before going into kit building?

I was thinking that a trainer like the LT-40 or PT-40 would be an easy kit to build since the lines and shape are very simple (unlike a warbird, or to an extent, a Cub). I would love to get enough experience to be able to build a Corsair from a kit in the future.

With the horrible falls and winters we get here in the Northwest, I figure that getting into the building side of the hobby would not only be fun, but would kill some time on those rainy days.

Thoughts?
Old 07-15-2007, 08:19 PM
Don41

Default RE: ARF then Kit, or straight to Kit?

I'd build a simple kit like the LT40. I've done a couple of ARFs for others and the instruction are (at best) minimal. If you have kit experience it's no real problem understanding what they failed to say in the ARF instructions. There's also the usual ARF problem of pre-assembled items that are defective or just don't fit. Experience can't be beat when you run into these situations.