Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

wing bolts

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

wing bolts

Old 04-08-2003, 10:30 PM
cigolf

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default wing bolts

My topflite kit calls for me to drill and tap the wing bolt blocks. Although I've never done that before, it looks pretty straight forward. With the nylon bolts, is thi a preferred method to using blind nuts. I've used them before and it seems that they have less of a likelyhood to strip than hand made threads. Any suggestions? Thanks

Andy
Old 04-08-2003, 10:33 PM
ggale
My Feedback: (6)

Default wing bolts

If after you make the thread, and the nylon bolts fit good, soak the threads with thin CA. Threads will be good and solid, and you wont have to worry about them stripping
Old 04-08-2003, 11:07 PM
FlyingPilgrim
My Feedback: (26)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default wing bolts

I don't know about preferred, but it works fine. If you aren't comfortable tapping the wood, use T-nuts (blind nuts), but you might want to put a dab of epoxy on them to make sure they don't fall out. I have tapped hardwood mounting blocks without any problems. Make sure to harden the threads with thin CA after tapping, then clean up threads with tap after CA cures.
Old 04-08-2003, 11:24 PM
rc-sport
My Feedback: (12)

Default wing bolts

I've used both methods and they both work well. I go to the hardware store to buy my nylon bolts, the 1/4-20 used for toilets. They work great.
Old 04-08-2003, 11:25 PM
CafeenMan

Default wing bolts

I wouldn't use T-nuts unless you taper the block so the nuts sit flush against while being 90 degrees to the bolt.

It's not hard to tap the wood blocks. Just get the wing lined up perfectly, take careful measurements and drill SLOWLY!