Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

TNPC Shoestring Build Thread

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

TNPC Shoestring Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2008, 08:10 PM
reincarnate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TNPC Shoestring Build Thread

Since I posted questions about this company and model in a previous thread, and a few expressed interest, here's the much awaited build thread for the TNPC (Top Notch Products Company) Shoestring.

http://topnotchkits.com/index_files/TN_Kit5.htm

The above link is the website for the String and gives all the specs, which will save me some typing, and let me get to posting pictures and impressions.

Please keep in mind that I am far from a professional builder (it may become obvious as we go[X(]) so please post thoughts and better ideas. I promise I'll get stuck and need assistance.
Old 01-04-2008, 08:20 PM
reincarnate

Default RE: TNPC Shoestring Build Thread

These first two pictures are the unpacking pictures. I didn't break down the sheets of laser cut parts, because there are many small parts on 1/32 balsa and I didn't want to loose them (yet!) The first picture is all of the balsa included in the kit, with my 2"x48" straightedge for reference. The second pic is the parts package. The canopy is from Sig, and rest of the parts aren't labeled. There is a small hardware package consisting of a few blind nuts, control horns, etc, but there isn't much there, which is just as well.

The cowl and the pants are both fiberglass, and both of very good quality. The pants are a little thin, but they're big enough that if you want to reinforce them it will be easy.
The ruler in the pic is a 12" for reference.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv63448.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	842363   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu64450.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	81.6 KB
ID:	842364