Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

What do you suggest, CA or Wood Glue?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

What do you suggest, CA or Wood Glue?

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2002, 02:05 PM
MightyMaxx13

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What do you suggest, CA or Wood Glue?

I am new at kit building and am working on a Sig Kadet. I have the fuslage and right wing completed. I used CA medium glue to construct these sections. My question is, would it be better to use a wood glue instead of CA and just use pins until the glue dries? Thanks for the answers.

Bob
Old 03-08-2002, 02:33 PM
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (108)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

The CA glues are designed to speed up the building process. There has been many debates on the strengh of the 2 glues and I do not think that it has ever been settled. Using wood glue and pins was how we used to do it befor CA was on the market. I can tell you from experiance that CA does make building alot quicker. The down side is that CA costs more and some folks are not tolerante of the fumes. There are CA glues on the market that are odorless and user friendly. In my opioion a builder only needs 2 glues, CA and Epoxy. Hope this helps and Good Luck Dave
Old 03-08-2002, 02:46 PM
Elwood
My Feedback: (2)

I was about to ask this very question!

I used CA on the wings of my Sig LT-40. I used wood glue on the fusalage and fuselage doubler with a lot of weight to hold them down properly. Now I am looking to glue the fuse together and don't know if I should use CA for F2, F3 etc, or wood glue. Epoxy for F1, I think.

Any thoughts people?
Old 03-08-2002, 02:58 PM
ramcharger

Default CA or Wood Glue