Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Clipped Wing Cub 1/6-Scale!! Need help!

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Clipped Wing Cub 1/6-Scale!! Need help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2009, 06:43 PM
colbygfp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clipped Wing Cub 1/6-Scale!! Need help!

I want to buy this but I have never done a kit before. When I am done will the plane look like it is in the picture? What are some things I should consider when buying it? Any tips? I know this is not a beginner kit but my dad has built a few and I am sure he could help me out on parts of it. Thanks guys

Here is the one I plan on buying!

https://www.wholesaletrains.com/Detail.asp?ID=200459797

Old 01-25-2009, 07:06 PM
khodges
My Feedback: (1)

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: Clipped Wing Cub 1/6-Scale!! Need help!

Your dad might have to help you a good bit on this kit. Most of it is "stickbuilt", meabing that you have to cut and fit each piece in the fuselage. the wing ribs are die cut, but that's about all that is pre-cut. It builds into a very nice looking and great flying plane, though.

Yes, it will look like the picture when you are done.........when you are done building the frame, and then covering it and then either painting the cover, or using trim strips to make the second color. With enough time, patience and effort, any kit can be built to look like the picture on the box, depending on how careful you are.

The 1/6 scale Sig Cub has been around a long time, and the design goes back to the days when most kits were just a box full of sticks and balsa sheet, and you had to provide the rest. the landing gear on this kit is piano wire, the joints have to be wrapped with copper wire and soldered. This also takes some degree of skill, but there's Dad again. This would not be the first kit I would recommend, even with help, but I do love Cubs.