Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Has anyone built a FLAIR BARONETTE??

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Has anyone built a FLAIR BARONETTE??

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2003, 11:40 PM
gareth08

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Has anyone built a FLAIR BARONETTE??

Hi

Have just bought a Flair Baronette kit. This is the first model i have built from scratch, all others i have biult have been ARTF kits apart form a shuttle plus helicopter.

The instructions so far are a bit sketchy, but i suppose they are assuming that you have a bit of experience. The plans are fairly easy to get my head round so far (as of yet!!!! ) I was wondering has anyone built one of these or seen one fly - and what do you think.

ANY BUILDING TIPS?? - Go easy on me i'm a total rookie to this building stuff.

Also, what is the best glue to use on balsa. I have both 30 minute epoxy and a glue i was recommeded at the model shop - 'FLAIR Aliphatic modellers glue' - any preferences?

Cheers

Gareth.
Old 06-13-2003, 11:56 PM
William Robison
My Feedback: (3)

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Gareth:

Welcome to the world of kits.

There will always be someone here for specific questions, and for the more popular kits there will be hints.

Almost any aliphatic glue will do very well for assembly, sve the epoxy for the really high stress joints. I've never used the Flair branded glue, my personal favorite is Pice Glu It.

The biggest disadvantage to the epoxies and CA glues is their resistance to sanding - they are much harder than the wood. With care they can be sanded, but the "White" glues sand very well.

Hope this is enough for the moment, enjoy your kit.

Bill.

PS: "Scratch" building is when you do it ALL, you have the original idea, you draw the plans, and so forth. wr.
Old 06-14-2003, 02:58 AM
susquach
My Feedback: (1)

Gareth,