Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

CG Super Chipmunk sheeting issue.

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

CG Super Chipmunk sheeting issue.

Old 03-30-2009, 10:24 AM
shleprock

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CG Super Chipmunk sheeting issue.

I am ready to put on the leading edge sheeting on the first wing panel. My problem is, the sheeting that is the correct width is too short. The sheeting that is long enough is too narrow. Do you glue the wider pieces together in order to get it long enough? Am I missing something? This is my first build.[&:] The instructions are a bit vague in this area. Also, What are you using for power for this plane? I am considering either OS 75ax or a Magnum 91 four stroke. I do love my Saito 100 on my 4*60. Thanks for any advice.
Old 03-30-2009, 10:53 AM
TexasAirBoss
My Feedback: (22)

Default RE: CG Super Chipmunk sheeting issue.

I don't remember the sheeting issue with my Chipmunk. But I can tell you I have an OS Max 61 and the power is good. Not great, but very good. One guy at the field actually has a 120 on his. Funny thing though, both planes fly nearly the same.
Old 03-30-2009, 11:09 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Sounds like something is wrong all right. You didn't accidentally use an incorrect piece of sheeting somewhere else, did you?

If it were me, I'd just go to the LHS and buy 4 sheets of whatever size is needed.

I had an OS 90 (Pre-surpass) in mine and it was great. Either of those engines will work well, but I think the Chippy really deserves a 4-stroke!

PS, you're gonna LOVE that plane!
Old 03-30-2009, 11:37 AM
Sharpeye22

use the ones that are long enough to cover right or left side. Joint them in the middle of the wing. Then use however many you need to cover the wing from leading edge to trailing edge.