Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Goldberg Ultimate Build 60 size by twn

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Goldberg Ultimate Build 60 size by twn

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2009, 04:12 PM
twn

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Goldberg Ultimate Build 60 size by twn

Hey all! This is my first build thread. I am not new to building and I have built a number of kits and arfs. My goal with this plane is to build a strong hairy plane. I will be throwing it around like a lunatic but I also want it light and I still want it somewhat scale in lines.

We have another member in our club building an ultimate so I figured I would build mine now and help him along.

I am going with the OS 120AX and Slimline Q-Series compact pitts. I want to tail mount the elevator servos.

Mods I’m considering:

Cf reinforced stab.
Harry Higgly cabain mod & top wing bolt method.
I’m a little apprehensive of the cabane mod as it requires the cabains to be mounted to the outside of the fuselage. It is VERY strong but takes from the scale look.
Enlarged ailerons by 20-30%.

Any other mods that people have done is very much welcomed and thank you to those who help!!

This build will probably be slow as it is still summer and I'm out flying a lot.
Old 08-16-2009, 10:55 AM
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)

Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts
Default RE: Goldberg Ultimate Build 60 size by twn

The stab reinforcement is not needed. The stab is short and it's sheeted. I have done some blenders with mine that were a blurr. The stab has never gave way. The stock cabanes are plenty strong. It's the mounting areas that need help. Either glass the tabs in the fuse before you sheet the front deck or use a ply doubler. Or both. I have never broken the tabs but the bolt pulled through, washer and all. The ARF I fly now is doubled in this area.