Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Buildig my 1st kit (what should I get)

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Buildig my 1st kit (what should I get)

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2009, 08:58 PM
kbailey45
My Feedback: (41)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buildig my 1st kit (what should I get)

I am going to attempt my first kit. I have plenty of experience repairing but havent built a kit yet. I am looking ro build something sporty preferably a bipe. Don't really want to do an Ultimate. I found a Sig Smith Bipe I really liked but it got sold before I could get to it. I don't want to spend a whole lot so I need something in the 40-46 size range. I thought about an RV-4 but am still looking. I even looked at a T-Craft. I never knew kits were so hard to find these days. Any suggestions?
Old 11-03-2009, 09:06 PM
EscapeFlyer
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Buildig my 1st kit (what should I get)

Do you have flying experience?

Goldberg Tiger 60. Perfect 1st kit and the best low wing trainer I've ever had the pleasure to fly.
the Sig Astro Hog would be my 2nd choice.

As for trainers, I'd recommend a Hobby Lobby Telemaster, or a Great Planes PT 60, or a Sig LT 40.

Brian
Old 11-03-2009, 09:16 PM
kbailey45

Yes i have flown for a long time. Kind of getting low in the hangar and need to add something. I currently only have 3D planes (EF Extra 50cc and Mojo 40, and a little bitty Sukhoi). I am kind of torn between three really the Sig Smith miniplane Bipe, GP T-Craft, and the GP RV-4. And i want to built a kit just because I have never done it.
Old 11-03-2009, 09:34 PM
EscapeFlyer

I have a lot of experience with the miniplane. It is a little biplane with a BIG heart. I'm afraid it may bore you a bit though. It needs to fly on the wing.

Have you considered an Ultra Sport? Or are you wanting to stick with a biplane?