Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

I can fly, now I want to build...

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

I can fly, now I want to build...

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2009, 03:41 PM
barndawg77

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I can fly, now I want to build...

I've been flying for a few years, can assemble an ARF...now I want to learn to turn sticks and parts into an airplane for the following reasons: I love airplanes!!! More importantly (or not), to be able to fix what's broken when I make a mistake, and I need something to do when it's cold outside! I have a brother that's into building already, and our father was a builder / flyer so we have tools and some basic knowledge...so my question is : What would be a good first kit? I want something that has a wingspan in the neighborhood of 60 inches or bigger. Any advice and sugestions are welcome and definately appreciated!
Old 11-18-2009, 04:00 PM
Campgems

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: I can fly, now I want to build...

Good on you

The Sig 4*60 is a very good kit. Modern Laser cut parts and a well engineered design, in addition to being a very fun plane to fly. It's just about impossible to screw it up if you follow the instructions exactly. They even warn about building two left sides or two right wings, which you can do if you are not carefull. Anyway, the kit will give you a well built kit, and require you to just about everything you would do in building more complex kits.

The next step would ba a scratch, or build from plans. A lot of the plans avaiable are old school designs, but taking what you learned from building the 4*60, it is easy to translate the old designs to a more modern and much lighter plane.

Jump into the pond, the waters great.

Don
Old 11-18-2009, 04:04 PM
Star7