Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Templates, how to make!!!

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Templates, how to make!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2010, 06:12 PM
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Templates, how to make!!!

I keep telling anyone that buys a new kit to make sure they make templates of each and every part in that kit. As fast as kits are being removed by manufactures for one reason or another it's up to us as builders to make sure we can all keep building our favorite planes. I'm waiting on the Goldberg Extra kit templates from other builders because I thought the kit would keep going forever and ever so I didn't bother making the templates from the last one I built, my bad, my stupid, my lazy. I'm just beginning to start the build on a Blue Jay kit, the Bridi designed Dirty Birdy, outstanding plane and still being made, very cheap price for all the items that come in the kit too. Just in case Blue Jay goes under for any reason I will be able to help out other builders by getting a copy of the plans, instructions and the templates for just the price of the copies.
Before I ever open a bottle of glue I get some butcher paper and trace out each and every part. I lable what the wood size is and what it is made from, either balsa or ply, maybe just a hardwood block. Whatever it is I have it marked, even the shape of the leading edges. I also make a note of all the sheeting and the sticks, size of wood and length. When I'm finished I just roll the template sheet and after the build I will roll it up with the plans aqnd instructions. A lot of ways to make templates but this is a very easy and fast way to keep these planes alive and built.