Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

fiberglassing??

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

fiberglassing??

Old 03-31-2010, 07:59 PM
LargeScale88

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fiberglassing??

Hello, its my first time fiberglassing. Anything I should know? Anything I should be carefull of? I have the basics, just need some help. Thanks
Old 03-31-2010, 08:13 PM
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: fiberglassing??

What basics, there are a bunch of ways to glass. I started using 1/2 oz glass and two coats of sanding sealer. First thing is the sealer and sand then I use the glass and deft Sanding Lacquer, about three coats of the deft, sand then I mix a 50/50 blend of the deft and baby powder and coat and sand with that blend until all the weave is filled and the plane is smooth, about two coats, sometimes only one needed. Then I prime and paint. Very easy but the fumes of the deft require you to be in an open area. Other people like the water based poly-U and some use the finishing resin or epoxy. Lot of ways to do the same thing.
Old 03-31-2010, 09:17 PM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)

hint; lay down a very light coat of 3M'77 contact spray; it will hold the glass in position while you add the resin...
Old 03-31-2010, 10:29 PM
AH1G

Fiberglassing? Hmmm... Polyester or epoxy? Making a plug or mold? Making a part ie. cowl or wheel pants? or "Glassing" a wing or fuselage?
Old 04-01-2010, 07:12 AM
Edwin
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Dont use too much reson. A roll of toilet paper does a good job soaking up excess. Then squeegy it smooth again. Several years back I had to strip the glass work off a swapmeet corsair wing and reglass it. Wasnt as good a purchase as I thought.
Edwin
Old 04-01-2010, 08:50 AM
psuguru

On the assumption that you're talking about covering with glass tissue and finishing resin: