Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Rapture 40 Guidance

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Rapture 40 Guidance

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2010, 10:18 PM
GP23
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rapture 40 Guidance

I have researched what threads I could regarding the Great Planes Rapture 40, but there is so much information scattered all over that it is almost impossible to cover all of it. I just ordered my Rapture 40 kit yesterday from Tower Hobbies and it will be my first kit.

I have little building experience, and after much research, I believe I made a good choice for the kit to buy...for my needs: mostly the building experience, but also a nice cheap "favorite" model to always bring to the field, and something to diversify and experiment with. I have found a lot of information that answered many questions I had. However, there are still a few areas I haven't made up my mind about.

First (and most important), the engine. My primary objective is most bang for the buck for this model. I have a couple in mind...For 2-stroke: Super Tigre GS45 or G51, Tower Hobbies 46, Magnum XLS 46 or 52, O.S. 46 or 55AX. For 4-stroke: Magnum XL52 or XL70 RFS, Thunder Tiger F-75, Saito 56 or 62. As much as I'd like to purchase brand new, I really don't want to cross the $130 mark, so another consideration I'm really exploring is seeing what kind of deal I can run into on eBay that falls into the above parameters. I just wasn't sure if some of these listed are too big or too small for this plane. Also, I am only personally familiar with the quality of O.S., Saito, and Evolution, only just read about the rest. I'm not necessarily looking for a super machine, just something very realistic, not underpowered, that I can enjoy for a long time.