Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

Reply

Old 04-13-2011, 08:58 AM
  #51  
dml232
Member
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: maryville, TN
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

Curious if anyone has any thoughts on a Saito FG-36 in the Fly-baby bipe?
Saito states 3.5 hp.
The G45 has 3.3 hp.
Seems like a good fit?
dml232 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:02 AM
  #52  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

Horsepower is no reason to pick an engine. You have to compare the RPM on the same prop on each engine.

If 2 engines turn the same exact prop at the exact same RPM, they have the same "power".

If one turns the prop lower RPM, it has less power.

My FBB with a Zenoah G-38 is plenty maneuverable for me.
pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 11:06 AM
  #53  
dml232
Member
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: maryville, TN
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

I was hoping someone may have owned both the Flybaby bipe and the FG.
For an 18x10 prop, I've read the FG has about 500 more rpm. So sounds like equivalent to your 38.
I am building mine just to fly scale like.
Thanks.
dml232 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 11:30 AM
  #54  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

I had an 36FG when they first came out Neat engine but you really have to look for the choke. It's practically hidden.

The guy that bought it from me wasn't so lucky. It seized up after 3 more engine runs.

I like my G-38. Lots cheaper and plenty of power,.
pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:52 PM
  #55  
morganflyboy
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 153
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

Hey Zipman
Dicks Fleet ended up in N.J. last year just south of you, it is one sweet flying Bipe. Now I have 2 1/4 Scales and a 1/6 Scale. The worst part of getting the plane was the ride, we own a house in N.C. 2 hours from where Dick is located. But we were not there at the time of sale, sooooo 7.0 hours each way. Well worth the trip.
morganflyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 03:32 PM
  #56  
limeybob
My Feedback: (6)
 
limeybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rockwall, Tx, TX
Posts: 995
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

ORIGINAL: pettit

Since I just opened the kit box less than 30 minutes ago, I cannot give you a complete answer.

Remember that this is a re-release of the original kit and it still shows things like a single elevatorn servo and bellcrank controlled ailerons, each of which are mentioned in the manual as a ''do not use'' item.

The cowl is a 2 piece ABS model meaning you have to join it and make sure the seams are even, and you have to put on a dummy engine.

The main gear isn't quite scale but it gets the point across.

But for $350.00 for a 33% biplane kit, I'd say it's a good deal.

But, In like biplanes and kit building....
Just got my hands on a original Balsa USA Flybaby bipe, kit, looks complete except for the cowl.
Die cut wood yet, is the new one laser cut?
Cowl is available as a replacement part from Balsa USA.

limeybob
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd92798.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	124.8 KB
ID:	1889128  
limeybob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 06:56 AM
  #57  
JHays
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

Dick,
Did the decal set come with your FB kit? I just finished one from an old kit (80's) and the decal were too old to use.
I called Balsa USA to order a new set and they told me the new kit does not come with decal ???
Is that correct and if so where did you get yours?

Thanks
JHays is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 06:41 AM
  #58  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

no decals came with kit. Kirbys custom graphics has what you want.
pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:40 AM
  #59  
JHays
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Balsa USA Fly Baby Biplane kit available

Thank you Dick.
Called Kirbys yesterday and placed my order, nice guy!

I'll post pictures when done.
JHays is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 06:15 PM
  #60  
cloudniner
My Feedback: (87)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bath, ON, CANADA
Posts: 179
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Finally got my F.B out in the sunshine.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	1DM34286.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	651.2 KB
ID:	2116942   Click image for larger version

Name:	INGR1937.JPG
Views:	65
Size:	203.5 KB
ID:	2116943   Click image for larger version

Name:	11953614_10153599961198566_5236578516205903391_o.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	542.1 KB
ID:	2116944  
cloudniner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 06:29 PM
  #61  
NOI53Y
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ACT, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey all,

Sorry for dragging up a really old thread but i'm considering buying on of these kits.

Is anyone able to tell me what it's like setting up one of these at the field? Does it take a while? Are the wires functional?

I've got a US41. I'm guessing that should be sufficient for it.

Regards,

Glenn.
NOI53Y is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service