RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Kit Building (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/)
-   -   Monokote....Never Again (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/11039722-monokote-never-again.html)

stevenmax50 04-12-2012 06:43 PM

Monokote....Never Again

I used the Top Flight Monokote yesterday for the first time in many years. Ihave been either fiberglassing or using Ultracoat. I do not usually brand bash because I believe that a product might just be fine for someone other than me. So to each his own.
But the Monokote I used (new from the hobby shop) was horrible. It had no stretch to it at all. And it just doesnt shrink anywhere near as much as Ultracoat will.
Iused it to cover the fuse and tail feathers on a Stinger 60. I just cannot believe how many wrinkles there are. It looks like a total beginner job. Iam no expert at covering but jeez. I havent beenthis bad in a long time.

Carlos G 04-12-2012 08:11 PM

RE: Monokote....Never Again

Hi steve,

A friend of mine recently covered a model with "Monokote" and I have heard how the recent stuff has changed. I too tried a sample of the new stuff and it actually reminded me of the Original Monokote in that it had very limited ability to shrink. Top Flite then came out with SuperMonokote and it behaved like the good stuff we all seem to remember. I think somebody at TopFlite had a mental melt down and ordered a huge batch of the original recipe and now we are all stuck with their screw up. I believe this is why Topfright/Great Pains can legally say they haven't changed Monokote. If you look at the current ads they no longer say "SuperMonokote" , just "Monokote".

I just wish they would own up to their mistake and get "SuperMonokote" back into production.

Only time will tell.

Carlos G.

Gray Beard 04-12-2012 09:05 PM

ORIGINAL: stevenmax50