RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Kit Building (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/)
-   -   Sig Ryan STA (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/11208903-sig-ryan-sta.html)

WacoNut 01-19-2013 07:53 AM

RE: Sig Ryan STA

It must be the temp and humidity changes here in Ohio. We go thru huges changes in temps thru the summer and the humidity goes thru the roof. It may also be the amount of initial heat used to shrink the Solartex. I may have used too much heat? Anyhow I will just stick with what works for me. ;)
Later!!
Anthony

ovationdave 01-19-2013 08:29 AM

Since I am a newbie to the fabric covering, can someone outline the steps required to apply it? I assume all of the mentioned fabrics are iron-on, then some have to be filled, some not, then paint. But I am wondering if there are any missing steps in there. I am thinking of doing my first fabric job next winter. I have a Mr. Mulligan, Spacewalker II, and a Brown B-2 Miss Los Angeles, haven't decided which one i will build next fall, but all of those will have one thing in common, fabric covering. Is there a crash-course somwhere that outlines the different methods?

Thanks.

P.S. Loving this build thread, thanks again Vincent!

Dave

WacoNut 01-19-2013 09:03 AM

Dave,
I will give you the short version:
#1 Solartex is an iron on fabric, you apply it like monokote. You can use it as supplied(color) or you can paint.

#2 Sig Koveral is a polyester fabric and it very light. It has a failrly loose weave and you have to attach the fabric with either dope or Stix-It. Wth Stix-It you can iron the fabric on. You must then fill the weave of the fabric with either dope or polycrylic to make a solid surface for accepting paint.