RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Kit Building (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/)
-   -   Sig King Kobra Build (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/6496478-sig-king-kobra-build.html)

ExperimentalAviator 10-16-2007 01:43 AM

Sig King Kobra Build

1 Attachment(s)
Thought I would start a new thread on the Sig King Kobra showing some pictures of my construction. I will update as I go if there is any interest, but be forewarned I am a slow builder!

These pictures show the way that I am constructing my KK, but in no way am I saying that this is the way to do it. If you have any different suggestions please chime in.

I am an old Sig fan and will be building another Kougar, a small Kobra, a Komander with retracts, and a few others down the road. I have owned and built several Kougars in the past, also one Komet, but this KK project is my first attempt at installing retractable landing gear into a foam wing. I have done so in a built up wing and feel that it is much easier and faster in such.

Happy Building,

Mike

ExperimentalAviator 10-16-2007 01:50 AM

RE: Sig King Kobra Build

1 Attachment(s)
More pics.

ExperimentalAviator 10-16-2007 02:02 AM

1 Attachment(s)
More pics.

ExperimentalAviator 10-16-2007 02:09 AM

1 Attachment(s)
More pics.

ExperimentalAviator 10-16-2007 02:12 AM

1 Attachment(s)
More pics.

JimInCA 10-16-2007 02:42 PM

Mike,
What a great build thread with such impressive documentation. I too am a big fan of the older Sig designs. A weekend seldom passes without my Kougar going to the flying field with me. I also have a King Kobra waiting near the end of a vary long build queue. Maybe this will entice me to move it closer to the front.
Take care...
Jim...

jollyroger 10-16-2007 04:08 PM

yes indeed, very well done!
Are you going yo use tricycle or just the mains on the wing?
I thought of doing this on my Kougar, but a retract nose gear would be quite difficult from my POV.