Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Kyosho Helicopters
Reload this Page >

NEXUS STARTING PROBLEMS

Community
Search
Notices
Kyosho Helicopters Discuss all Kyosho heli topics here.

NEXUS STARTING PROBLEMS

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2006, 11:44 AM
jsuns

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEXUS STARTING PROBLEMS

Hello Everybody. I am hoping to get some ideas for a starting problem that I am having with my Kyosho Nexus 30. I am a newbie, and yes, I know many individuals bad mouth the Nexus. I wanted something to start with that I didn't have to invest a lot on money into. I got a good deal on the Nexus, and some other additional goodies with it. Physically, it looks to be in great shape. My problem is that I am unable to get it started, and am uncertain if it is getting fuel. Like I said, I am totally new to the nitro helis. I just started approx. 1 month prior with an electric Blade CP, and it has been difficult! I'm improving, can hover nicely now, and wanted to move to a nitro, hearing a possibly easier learning curve over the electrics. Anyhow, when I attempt to start the Nexus, it seems to hydrolock, and I can't turn the starting cone with the glow plug in. I remove the plug, run the starter for a bit, and attempt again with the plug in, but it becomes difficult again to turn. I'm also not sure where I am to start with as far as setting the needle valve. I've pinched off the exhaust, and opened the throttle wide without the glow plug igniter, and cranked to attempt to draw in fuel. I think it may be taking on fuel, but I can't get the starter shaft to turn without the plug being almost completely out of the engine. The pressure builds up too great for it to turn. I've even tried the theory of turning the heli onto the muffler side, and spin the fan backwards to free the lock, but once the glow is back in, and I attempt to start, it seems to hydrolock again! I know the engine is free, being that it will readily spin with the glow plug removed. Glow plug