RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Kyosho Helicopters (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kyosho-helicopters-215/)
-   -   I got a caliber 30 for Christmas. Now what???? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kyosho-helicopters-215/441196-i-got-caliber-30-christmas-now-what.html)

Stratos 12-27-2002 04:52 AM

I got a caliber 30 for Christmas. Now what????

Hey all,

I'm completely new to helis. In fact this is the second day I ever read anything from the heli section in RCU :p
Here is my first question. I read some posts allready and I saw people putting the Fut9202 on the 30. Is this necessary? I already have 5 3001s that I can use but if there is a specific reason why I need to go with the 9202s then I'll go that way.
Second question is about the gyro: Will a 401 work ok with a 3001 servo or I need to get the 401/9253 combo or maybe the 401 with another servo?
Also where do you guys buy your heli stuff online? From what I saw so far Tower is a ripoff. Any other links out there.

Thanks for the help :)

bobfox 12-27-2002 12:42 PM

401 Servo

I'm also fairly new to heli's and I have a Caliber 30 on the bench being assembled.

The 401 gyro can be used either with a high speed digital servo or with a "regular" servo BUT there's a switch on the gyro that has to be correctly set for the proper servo. Put it on digital and it will fry your servo. Obviously, the regular (analog) servo will not give you the level of performance that the digital will, but you probably won't notice until you get further along in your skills.

I don't use the 3001 so I can't answer the rest of your question. If they are ball bearing servos, they are probably okay for now. Again, servo quality, especially with CCPM (Or whatever Kyosho calls it), is a case of getting what you pay for. The better servos give better perfromance.

Good luck.

Bob

bobfox 12-27-2002 12:49 PM

Heli Parts

Sorry, forgot a part of the response.