Community
Search
Notices
Losi Monster Trucks Discuss all Losi Monster Trucks (i.e. LST) in this forum. Optionally you may discuss this and all other MT's in our general MT forum.

Need help on running the LST...

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2005, 05:34 PM
Rocmit

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help on running the LST...

HI all,

I am new here and I have been reading this fourm for about a month now. I am new to this hobbie and I decided to go with LST Sorry for the long story...

After getting all the necessary stuff to get my LST started, I finally feel comfortable starting my engine. I have the truck for about 3 weeks but haven't try to start it until today. Here is the story...

I read about heat cycle, idle first 3 tanks, etc... I am trying to see if I can do any of it.

First attemp (First tank of gas)...

I left everything factory defualt... Engine started up and it sounds okay (but I never heard a nitro engine run before )... Removed the glow plug and try to give it a little gas. The engine stopped a few times. The first couple times the engine stopped shortly after I removed the glow plug. After a few attempts, the engine stayed idle with a lot of liquid/gas coming out of the pipe and some smoke. This seems pretty normal to a newbie like me

Here comes the problem... If I try to give it a little bit of throttle, the engine would just stop. I tried to press the trigger as little as possible to get a feel on how much throttle kills the engine... I notice that a tiny little throttle is fine (the truck did not move at all) and I hear the engine speeds up tiny bit. And anything above that kills the engine... Any one knows why? Not sure if I am doing this correctly but I tried to lean the low speed dial a little bit but the result is the same.

Finally I give up on trying to drive the LST and just idle through the first tank. I measure the temperature and it stay at about 110F.