Community
Search
Notices
Losi Monster Trucks Discuss all Losi Monster Trucks (i.e. LST) in this forum. Optionally you may discuss this and all other MT's in our general MT forum.

Idle issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2005, 06:28 PM
spinner11
My Feedback: (37)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle issue

This may seem like a simple question but since this is my first truck I'm just starting to learn about it. I have set my slipper clutch at about 1/4 to 1/2 turn out. I just like the way it feels that way. The truck is really responsive but throttle management is critical especially on pavement or it will flip. It really rips on grass and dirt though. The problem is that at an idle the clutch is slightly engageing just enough to put load on the motor, making a prolonged idle very difficult because it eventually stahls. The truck even tries to roll a little. My other concern is that it is wearing on my clutch. I have adjusted the low end needle properley per the manual and the idle down as far as I can with out it stahling. I also replaced the glow plug.

What I'm wondering is if by setting the slipper so tight I have created a problem at idle. I thought that the slipper and clutch were seperate but I'm not sure now.
Old 11-27-2005, 07:56 PM
DaveG55

Default RE: Idle issue

If you cannot lower the idle enough to keep the clutch from engaging then your still a bit off on your tuning. My LST will set and idle for several minutes w/o moving or dieing.
Old 11-27-2005, 08:00 PM
spinner11

Does it have anything to do with the slipper adjustment??
Old 11-27-2005, 08:17 PM
DaveG55

Nope, shouldn't. The clutch shoes on the crankshaft must engage the clutch bell to turn the spur gear. Only then does the slipper clutch come into play. The idle should be set to keep the shoes from engaging the clutch bell. That is directly related to engine speed and has nothing to do with the slipper.
Have you done a pinch test to see how the lsn is set?
Old 11-27-2005, 09:45 PM