Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Inexpensive HL IR upgrade

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Inexpensive HL IR upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2012, 01:01 PM
Ten41

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Inexpensive HL IR upgrade

Hello all. First off, Ihave done my best to review the previous forum posts, but Ihave gotten bogged down a bit. So, if I re-hash something that someone else has done, I apologize.

My background is a new HL tank owner (BB) who wishes to do IRbattle. At this time I see little need for Tamiya compatability. We live too far out in the boonies to drive to a club meet. This would be battle between my boys and I. As I have 6, in various stages of life, I will eventually have enough for a great amount of fun.

I am looking for an inexpensive IR upgrade. While it might be nice to have such things as gun recoil, that is not a requirement. Generally, speaking, we want to shoot, and be shot. I have been looking at Darkith's kits, as they seem relatively inexpensive (as things go) and well featured. I was wondering though, what was involved with the HL IRkits. I have found incomplete information online, so don't know if it is just a few pieces (Apple, IR, etc.) and I would be off and running, or not.

Any information that you can give me on this would be appreciated.
Old 05-03-2012, 01:17 PM
ausf

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Inexpensive HL IR upgrade

The HL IR system is pretty simple, I think the apple is $11 and you can get the IR wiring harness and go. It's a bit crude, the tank jiggles when hit, no LED indication. I swapped mine out for one of Darkith's DBC-RC2s and it's much better. I also just plugged in into an airsoft Pz IV and it works great, you just need to get an IR emitter LED. The added ability to battle and pelt your opponent at the same time.