Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Pay It Forward Build Thread!! Sig LT-40 build

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Pay It Forward Build Thread!! Sig LT-40 build

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2005, 09:54 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts
Default Pay It Forward Build Thread!! Sig LT-40 build

Ok, I promised it and here it is. This is my build thread showcasing the build of a basic trainer type airplane. I have been considering doing a build thread of a trainer for about 6 months now in order to show a lot of new pilots that it's not as difficult to build a kit as they may think. A recent request in the Pay It Forward thread , [link]http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=3381064[/link] , was for to help get a family into the RC hobby. I offered to build a plane if a kit was provided. This was the perfect opportunity for me to do this build thread. So I'm going to kill two birds with one stone here.

When I was asked which trainer kit to purchase for this build it was almost a no-brainer on the answer, the Sig LT-40. First of all, this is a very good flying trainer. It's a little bit bigger than other 40 size trainers which makes it a little bit more stable in the air and also makes it easier to see. The second reason for choosing this plane is that it is easily the most complete trainer kit on the market today. Anybody who has ever built a kit knows that you always have to read the “required to finish†list on any kit you buy. The Sig kit has everything you need to build this plane except for the covering material, glue, and building tools. There is no other trainer kit on the market that is this complete that I am aware of.