Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

top flite p-51 giant scale build

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

top flite p-51 giant scale build

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2007, 12:51 PM
Jan_Petter

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: top flite p-51 giant scale build

Hi,

I studied doublebs pics before doing my fairings, a very good help. I still made one big mistake, I used too long pieces of balsa along the wing. Thought it would be more streamlined with two long pieces instead of several short ones. Big mistake, I had to sand down to allmost nothing to get i so-so. Do it just the way doublebs shows, and you will be fine.

And, if you make a mistake, it is allways possible to start all over

Good Luck!
Old 04-06-2007, 01:21 PM
doublebs

today i got my hinge pockets all SIX of them .after studying the instructions more i see i need EIGHT !!! DOUGH!!!!! so i'll have to order more . at least i can start one side .

berrick
Old 04-06-2007, 01:50 PM
Jan_Petter

Hi Berrick.

Eight !?! How do you place 8 hinges in that confined space??????????

Had to test my flitemetal today, and what a challenge! Allmost impossible to avoid wrinkles, air bubbles, and holes... Need to practise a lot, this wasn't easy, and result no good. Anyone having any experience with flitemetal, tips are welcome
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk25588.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	69.2 KB
ID:	658343   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xs57192.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	63.4 KB
ID:	658344  
Old 04-06-2007, 05:03 PM
Snaer810

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hey Guys,

Jan, the flitemetal on those doors still looks pertty darn good.