Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Pilot model kits?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Pilot model kits?

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2003, 08:28 PM
rfisher56
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pilot model kits?

Hey guys...was just wondering if anyone knows what happened to the great airplane model company "Pilot". I purchased a few of their kits in the early 80's. My favorite was their Lake Buccaneer amphib. Have been searching the web for that kit and haven't gotten anywhere. Any clues?? Thanks, Bob.
Old 03-17-2003, 09:42 PM
linclogs

I've built several Pilot kits. In my opinion, there were none better as far as design, quality and durability.

I've been hearing for several years that the company burned (don't know how long ago but I'd guess more than 10 years ago?). I can't figure out why no one picked up and continued the line being they were so popular. Maybe just too expensive these days to completely start over from scratch.

Pilot kits come up often on eBay. Do a search in eBay - try "Pilot model kits" or "Pilot model airplanes" or something like this. I know there's a PT-19 currently running, and another PT-19 ended on the 15th, and a "Monster QB" and a Lake Buccaneer ended yesterday (you just missed it!). I see a Lake quite often - at least once a month I'd guess. Be prepared to drop a lot of cash, though. Pilot kits are sought after by a lot of others, too.
Old 03-17-2003, 10:33 PM
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts