Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Beware of the SV50 single !

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2008, 02:40 PM
freeonthree
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Beware of the SV50 single !

We got a new SV50 single from Hobby City, and within 20 seconds of running, it cracked the side of the fuse of our brand new Pacific Aeromodels Cliped Wing Monocoupe, broke off 3 of the 4 engines mounting ears, and destroyed a new Zinger prop as well. Yikes ! Dennis
Old 03-21-2008, 03:17 PM
mikekosatka
My Feedback: (7)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Beware of the SV50 single !

It sounds like more of a problem with the monocope than the engine. Why do you think the motor was the problem rather than the firewall, or prop? Not challanging you or anything, just wondering. More details, please and photds!!
Mike
Old 03-21-2008, 03:41 PM
freeonthree

I said what I have to say. This is not our first rodeo. Im new to gas more less, but not my bud, he's been flying gas for years, and were both retired mechanics. Sorry, with all the instant destruction, we didn't have time to take any pics or video of it. He put a FTL45 on the Monocoupe shortly after, and it's nice and smooth with the same prop. Lets let some other happy SV50 owners chime in now. The point is, we got a defective one, but they expect us to pay the return shipping (about $50.00). Nope, were keeping it as a reminder. That engine has cost us too much already, and we sure don't want anything else from Hobby City, so were going to just write it off and not look back. We just don't want anyone else to go thru what we have. Thats what these forums are all about. Dennis
Old 03-21-2008, 03:52 PM
lill will

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

ohh boy mine works great and another freind of mine guys one badd apple
Old 03-21-2008, 04:01 PM
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)

Yep, it must of been the Monocoupe! ROFL