MaxAmps Support Receive support for your MaxAmps products here!

FP V-Balancer Compatability

Reply
Old 03-06-2008, 11:48 AM
  #1
ben beyer
Thread Starter
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FP V-Balancer Compatability

I have two questions:

The first question is about the Maxamps packs compatability with the Flight Power V-Balancer. I have one of these balancers that I use with my smaller packs, but I'm considering doing a 50cc conversion project. If I did it, I would like to use Maxamps 6S 5000maH packs for power (I would connect them in series for 12S total). When you put the TP balancing taps on, would you just do two 3S taps?

I was looking at a picture of a 6S FP pack and I see two connections with 4 wires each. So, they basically have two 3S taps on each 6S pack for balancing. I'm assuming if Maxamps also did this, then one of your 6S packs would also be compatible, right?

The reason why I ask, is FP says that the V-Balancer is only compatible with their batteries, but that can't be completely true. If you were to build a battery pack with their diagrams for doing the balancing taps, then that pack should be compatible as well. I attached a picture.

My second question is about using a CellPro 4S charger to charge 6S packs. I have one of these chargers on the way because I need to charge A123 packs. Would I be able to charge a 6S Maxamps pack using two of the CellPro 4S chargers or do I need to stick with my V-Balancer?

I'm more or less know what I'm doing when it comes to anything with a single balancing tap, but these multiple tap packs are something that will be new to me. Anyways, I've done some research on the Maxamps packs and I really like what I'm seeing. Your packs are lighter than the FP and seem to be just as durable. They may take a little longer to "break in" but I can live with that with the weight savings.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Om34390.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	896182  
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 01:14 PM
  #2
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

The tp taps don't come in a 6S version thus the reason for the two 3S taps on the packs. If you buy our packs with the TP taps which is what Flight power uses you'll get them wire the same as the TP packs or the Flight Power packs. So you can use them with the V balancer.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 01:23 PM
  #3
ben beyer
Thread Starter
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

You may know this better than me, but are FlightPower and Thunder Power more or less the same company?

Similar names and the balancing taps are the same.

Oh, and if I got your pack set up with the CellPro taps, it would be the same wiring as with a TP/FP tap, right?
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 02:27 PM
  #4
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

Cell pro is totally different.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 03:42 PM
  #5
ben beyer
Thread Starter
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

So it would be wired differently?

I know the balancing taps would be different, but would you configure a 6S pack like a 4S and 2S or would you separate it into 2 3S configurations?
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 05:02 PM
  #6
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

I'm not sure how FMA comfigures thier 6S taps.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 05:03 PM
  #7
ben beyer
Thread Starter
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

They don't have them. Their taps are designed for up to 4 cells or up to 5. So for a 6S pack, I would imagine you would just do two of the 2S-4S taps. I imagine you would just do it the same way and plug each tap into one of the two ports of their 10S balancer.
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:13 PM.