Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

  1. #1
    ben beyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    2,341
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    FP V-Balancer Compatability

    I have two questions:

    The first question is about the Maxamps packs compatability with the Flight Power V-Balancer. I have one of these balancers that I use with my smaller packs, but I'm considering doing a 50cc conversion project. If I did it, I would like to use Maxamps 6S 5000maH packs for power (I would connect them in series for 12S total). When you put the TP balancing taps on, would you just do two 3S taps?

    I was looking at a picture of a 6S FP pack and I see two connections with 4 wires each. So, they basically have two 3S taps on each 6S pack for balancing. I'm assuming if Maxamps also did this, then one of your 6S packs would also be compatible, right?

    The reason why I ask, is FP says that the V-Balancer is only compatible with their batteries, but that can't be completely true. If you were to build a battery pack with their diagrams for doing the balancing taps, then that pack should be compatible as well. I attached a picture.

    My second question is about using a CellPro 4S charger to charge 6S packs. I have one of these chargers on the way because I need to charge A123 packs. Would I be able to charge a 6S Maxamps pack using two of the CellPro 4S chargers or do I need to stick with my V-Balancer?

    I'm more or less know what I'm doing when it comes to anything with a single balancing tap, but these multiple tap packs are something that will be new to me. Anyways, I've done some research on the Maxamps packs and I really like what I'm seeing. Your packs are lighter than the FP and seem to be just as durable. They may take a little longer to "break in" but I can live with that with the weight savings.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Om34390.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	80.4 KB 
ID:	896182  
    Team DOD Member
    www.downonthedeck.com

  2. #2
    JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nine Mile Falls, WA
    Posts
    556
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

    The tp taps don't come in a 6S version thus the reason for the two 3S taps on the packs. If you buy our packs with the TP taps which is what Flight power uses you'll get them wire the same as the TP packs or the Flight Power packs. So you can use them with the V balancer.

    Jason
    Jason
    MaxAmps Marketing Manager/Tech Support
    Jason@maxamps.com
    www.maxamps.com

  3. #3
    ben beyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    2,341
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

    You may know this better than me, but are FlightPower and Thunder Power more or less the same company?

    Similar names and the balancing taps are the same.

    Oh, and if I got your pack set up with the CellPro taps, it would be the same wiring as with a TP/FP tap, right?
    Team DOD Member
    www.downonthedeck.com

  4. #4
    JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nine Mile Falls, WA
    Posts
    556
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

    Cell pro is totally different.

    Jason
    Jason
    MaxAmps Marketing Manager/Tech Support
    Jason@maxamps.com
    www.maxamps.com

  5. #5
    ben beyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    2,341
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

    So it would be wired differently?

    I know the balancing taps would be different, but would you configure a 6S pack like a 4S and 2S or would you separate it into 2 3S configurations?
    Team DOD Member
    www.downonthedeck.com

  6. #6
    JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nine Mile Falls, WA
    Posts
    556
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

    I'm not sure how FMA comfigures thier 6S taps.

    Jason
    Jason
    MaxAmps Marketing Manager/Tech Support
    Jason@maxamps.com
    www.maxamps.com

  7. #7
    ben beyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    2,341
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FP V-Balancer Compatability

    They don't have them. Their taps are designed for up to 4 cells or up to 5. So for a 6S pack, I would imagine you would just do two of the 2S-4S taps. I imagine you would just do it the same way and plug each tap into one of the two ports of their 10S balancer.
    Team DOD Member
    www.downonthedeck.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.