MaxAmps Support Receive support for your MaxAmps products here!

Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

Reply
Old 09-18-2008, 01:16 PM
  #1
unbdm
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , TX
Posts: 61
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

I have a several year old Triton charger from when I used to fly (not the Triton2, which is the current model)

I am considering running MaxAmp LiPo batteries with electric trucks I recently bought.

Would the Triton LiPo Balancer work with MaxAmp?

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMGS7&P=M

I'm not clear on the various connector / wiring schemes used by diferent manufacturers. I'm really wanting a somewhat off the shelf solution without having to customize a wiring harness.

I plan on buying another charger anyway, but I don't want to have to buy two, so I want make use of the charger I have when selecting my battery packs. Any advice would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks,
Barry



unbdm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:20 PM
  #2
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

Order your packs with the Align balance taps and you'll be good.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:23 PM
  #3
unbdm
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , TX
Posts: 61
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

cool, thanks for that.

With that balance tap, will they also work with the chargers you offer in your packages (i.e. Hyperion EOS0606i AC/DC Balance Charger)?

Thanks!
Barry
unbdm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:27 PM
  #4
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

Yes with the Hyperion Chargers you just purchase the Align Style adapter board.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:32 PM
  #5
unbdm
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , TX
Posts: 61
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

sorry to keep this going...

I just read that I can't go higher than 3A charge current with my triton, so with these high maH rated LiPo batteries i may not be happy with it, but I still like the idea of it as a backup.

Is there any disadvantage of going with the balance tap type you recomended? I just hate to get into a form factor that has some negatvie to it, and the Triton may be questionable anyway for this application.

Thanks again,
Barry
unbdm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:37 PM
  #6
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

I suggested the Align because that what your triton uses. Any of the 4 main balance taps work and work fine it's what you prefer.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:52 PM
  #7
unbdm
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , TX
Posts: 61
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

great thanks for the info... last q... should I get a case for them? If so, will that be a problem fitting into the battery compartment on my Traxxas Slash?

Thanks!
unbdm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:54 PM
  #8
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

I wouldn't worry about cases or skins the slash has a really good battery tray. Just make sure you get an LVC unit that will work with the slash's ESC.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:57 PM
  #9
unbdm
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , TX
Posts: 61
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

do you guys sell a LVC that will work? My LHS didn't have one, and I couldn't seem to find one on towerhobbies.com...

thanks,
Barry
unbdm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 02:00 PM
  #10
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Triton charger for use with MaxAmps

No sorry the Novaks we carry will not work with the particular esc.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:58 PM.