MaxAmps Support Receive support for your MaxAmps products here!

I want to use an 11.1v pack but can't go over 6v...

Reply
Old 01-05-2009, 05:08 PM
  #1
y7deluxe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: tampa, FL
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I want to use an 11.1v pack but can't go over 6v...

I was on the phone with maxamps.com and they told me that I could use a 7.4v pack with my receiver that is limited to a max of 6.0v. I'm pretty sure they told me that I'd need a B.E.C. regulator, but I'm not positive. It'd save me quite a bit of money if I could use one of my 11.1v packs that I have sitting around instead of purchasing a new 7.4v pack. Is the B.E.C. regulator what I need and can I use it with an 11.1v pack or does the pack have to be a 7.4v pack? Thanks!
y7deluxe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 05:29 PM
  #2
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I want to use an 11.1v pack but can't go over 6v...

Yes you need to knock the voltage down to 6 volts. I wouldn't use an 11.1 volt pack because if the regulator were to fail a 3S pack would kill the system where a 2S is less likely to harm it. A castle creations BEC unit can be used to knock the voltage down to 6 volts.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:11 PM
  #3
y7deluxe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: tampa, FL
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I want to use an 11.1v pack but can't go over 6v...

Do the BEC regulators fail often? Also, if it does fail, would it fry the receiver and the servos or just the servos? Thanks.
y7deluxe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:06 AM
  #4
JAM MaxAmps
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I want to use an 11.1v pack but can't go over 6v...

I have over a dozen of them that I use and Knock on wood no issues but it's a man made device and can fail what ever brand it is. As far as what would get fried at that voltage, most likely everything. There is a slim chance the receiver would make it but why take the risk at all.

Best regards,

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:32 AM
  #5
Supercharged6-71
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I want to use an 11.1v pack but can't go over 6v...

Check the spec's on your receiver. My JR ar7000 spectrum receiver can handle up to 9.6 volts but the servo's can not handle this power.
I have powered my receiver and servo's with a 7.2 volt nicad pack and had no issue's but I would not use it all the time. I did this to see if the system would handle this power. I used this setup in a 120 stinger with a 50cc engine, she flew great till the motor mount broke from the motor and the motor fell off, I was able to land with out any problems, the engine was hanging by the choke cable. No more HHH engines for me, ran great, just bad metal and castings.
I use 6 volt packs with no regulator, not sure if I still need one using a 6 volt pack? I have a couple really nice JR spectrum regulators with built in fan, but not sure they are needed with 6 volts, some say yes they are needed to keep voltage level.
I have no idea if a regulator is needed, seems like more wieght and another man made thing do go bad and crash my plane. So I have these really nice regulators I just store in my parts box, I look at them sometime and think, how nice, then put them back in my parts box.
I tried selling them on ebay, I could not give them away. So must not be needed to bad, no one wanted them, I could not get .99 cents for them, with free shipping. I beleive these cost somewhere around 50-70 bucks on horizon, I can't remember what I paid but was not cheap.
Supercharged6-71 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 09:43 AM
  #6
RCplanman
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 293
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I want to use an 11.1v pack but can't go over 6v...

Y7DELUXE Re: your 11.1 volt pack can be dropped to 5.5 w/ aBEC THAT COST ABOUT $8.00.Call a small Co. in CA. LIGHT FLIGHT RC.RCPLANMAN
RCplanman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:28 PM.