RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   MaxAmps Support (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/maxamps-support-449/)
-   -   6060i question (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/maxamps-support-449/7094268-6060i-question.html)

NovaRC 02-18-2008 08:35 AM

6060i question

I am new to RC cars and I have a few questions about this charger and LiPos. I have seen a few post claiming this charger (50 watts) 6 amp charge rate will not be enough for big packs. Can someone set me straight to see if I understand this right?

If I have a 2S 3000 mah (max charge rate of 2c), I could charge this at 1C (3 amps) or 2C (6 amps)?

If I have a 2S 6000 mah, I could only ever charge it at 1 C (6 amps)?

If the above pack were drained, it would take about an hour to charge it?

How safe is it to run chargers at their max rating?

If I get packs over 6000 mah, I will have to charge at below 1C which means it will take longer.

Is there some mah limit to what I can charge? I can charge a 10,000 mah but it will take some time.

It also seems that, in general, you can charge Lipos at a faster rate than NiMH.

If I am wrong, can you explain why please?

Many thanks!

JAM MaxAmps 02-18-2008 08:54 AM

RE: 6060i question

ORIGINAL: NovaRC

I am new to RC cars and I have a few questions about this charger and LiPos. I have seen a few post claiming this charger (50 watts) 6 amp charge rate will not be enough for big packs. Can someone set me straight to see if I understand this right?The charger works fine with larger packs it's just that the charge time will be longer.

If I have a 2S 3000 mah (max charge rate of 2c), I could charge this at 1C (3 amps) or 2C (6 amps)? If these are our packs they can be charged at 2C but YOU MUST USE A BALANCER while charging at 2C.

If I have a 2S 6000 mah, I could only ever charge it at 1 C (6 amps)? Yes you will only be able to charge it at 6 amps.