Community
Search
Notices
Model Rockets & Rocketry Discuss all aspects of model rocketry here, including r/c rocketry.

Larger rockets

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2016, 05:09 AM
308jockey

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Larger rockets

Morning all,

I've been a modeler all my life and been flying rockets since grade school. I still get out a few times a year and send an Estes rocket up and sometimes even get it back!! While I enjoy those I've continued to get interested in something with greater power that will reach higher altitudes. I have a place to fly big enough to handle the greater demands but don't know where to find higher power or where to go to learn more about it. What is anyone doing in rocketry these days? Around here, while I don't often see it the local Hobby Town is moving enough products that someone is launching more than a few. Thanks for some information leads.

Rick H.
Old 05-24-2016, 12:58 PM
smeckert

Have a look at" Public Missiles Ltd."
That will give you an idea of some of what is available.
Old 05-25-2016, 07:20 AM
Bob Jablonski

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Bigger rockets are out there. Big chains don't sell a lot of them as they don't have the turn overrate as the typical Estes type kits. A good place to start is in Mid power where you can get a good feel of bigger more powerful rockets. Also check out National Association of Rocketry and Tripoli. They have groups all over the country. They can help you learn the ropes so to speak and many have large fields and faa waivers to fly way bigger rockets then the typical model rocket. If you have spacific questions post and we will do our best to help. Just remember some things (like folding parachutes) there are a number of different ways of doing it, and none are wrong.
Mr. Bob
Countyline Hobbies
Grovertown, IN574-540-1123
[email protected]
www.countylinehobbies.com
Old 06-01-2016, 07:30 AM
scottrc

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts