Multi Rotor Helicopters Discuss Multi rotor RC Helicopter's here!

Bumble Bee Quad

Reply
Old 04-10-2012, 08:41 AM
  #1
noobflyer01
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 2,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Bumble Bee Quad

Hello all, I just finish building my quad and thought I might share.

I bought my kit from HobbyCool.com The online store is in California so the kit arrived at my doorstep in only a few days. The Kit came with everything needed to except your radio and batteries.

I'm using a 2200mah 25C 3S batteries and orange rx (specktrum compatible). I get about 8-9 minutes of flight time. The bumble bee is very stable and flew great with the default settings.

The carbon fiber frame is hgh quality and nice finish. Build time was under 2 hours. I also ordered the ST450 aluminium frame to try out as well.











noobflyer01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:46 AM
  #2
noobflyer01
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 2,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

Here a few video tutorials on how to set your Bumble bee quad. Hope it helps



[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uImbd0_oVBg[/youtube]


[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkd_bw-1W1c[/youtube]


noobflyer01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:44 AM
  #3
noobflyer01
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 2,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E446lDl5r9U[/youtube]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sL8YFkYb7x4[/youtube]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J268HSXr8y8[/youtube]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGvm90K_Mkk[/youtube]
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMlCh_CyuiI[/youtube]
noobflyer01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:00 PM
  #4
noobflyer01
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 2,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

For those that was wondering where I bought my Bumble Bee kit from.... here is the link

http://www.hobbycool.com/bumblebee-5...mbo-p-423.html


its based in California and shipping is super quick.
noobflyer01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 06:58 AM
  #5
gilweiss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bensalem, PA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

I went to their site to set up an account and order a Bumble Bee, but the site was not working properly so I wasted a lot of time and could not place an order. I guess they are new and have "growing pains"?

Gil
gilweiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:30 AM
  #6
noobflyer01
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 2,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

I'll contact them and see if they are having any problems.
noobflyer01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 08:55 AM
  #7
noobflyer01
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 2,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

Gilweiss, I just placed an order and didnt have any issues.  I did use paypal though.  Try paying thru paypal and it should work.  You can use paypal even if you dont have an account with them.
noobflyer01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:12 PM
  #8
gilweiss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bensalem, PA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

I appreciate your help. I couldn't get to the point of paying as the site would not let me set up an account. It asked for my information and then said it did not reognize my email and password? I tried entering this info several times. . .
gilweiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:26 PM
  #9
noobflyer01
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 2,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

I just placed an order a few minutes ago and didn't have any problems. What browser are you using? I used chrome and checked out with paypal.
noobflyer01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 05:14 AM
  #10
gilweiss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bensalem, PA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

I checked in today and they said their store was "on line". It let me set up an account and order the BB quad! I am looking forwatrd to the build and flying this machine. I have been flying RC since 1982 and have built and flown all types of aircraft and some helis, but never a quad.

The hardest part of my decision was to figure out which quad to get. It came down to the DJI 450 Flamewheel or the Bumble Bee and I decided to go with the BB. . .

Gil
gilweiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:14 AM
  #11
gilweiss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bensalem, PA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

Hobbycool shipped the same day and my BB arrived on the East Coast a few days later. Nicely wrapped for shipping, this is a really neatly packaged kit. Very impressive. Shipping and service from Hobbycool is first rate. Pricing was excellent too. I have the quad about half built. Instructions are not that good but with the videos here one can figure things out.
gilweiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 06:18 AM
  #12
usmc5811
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern, CA
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

1st, thanks to noobflyer for posting the pics and vids.

2nd, can any of you with this frame tell me how long and wide each boom is? I am trying to get out from under my money pit GAUI 500X and would love if the electronics and most importantly the ESC's and wiring will fit inside those booms. Maybe someone can post pictures of how their ESC wiring goes would be great.

The GAUI ESC wiring is about 10" in length.

Thanks.
usmc5811 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:24 AM
  #13
23ambroselane
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: CarriereMississippi
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

Question about your Bumblebee. I just finished putting mine together and noticed that 3 motors appear to be tilted 2 or 3 degrees from level and the four appears to level. Is this normal ? It just doesn't look right. I am new to quads been flying Heli's for away and still trying to get my head around the concept of four motors flying in a box formation. Any help or insight would be appreciated. Your pictures are inspiring.
23ambroselane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:47 AM
  #14
Wen
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

Hey, this looks very cool
Wen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:20 PM
  #15
murcielago
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

I love my bumblebee. I got mine for 180 bucks, and it came with everything but the controller board. This project was meant as a poor man's multicopter, and the original bee board was out of budget...so, I got a KK2 for 29 bucks and I can't believe how stable it is. Now, I had to discard the original ESCs because they were ultra pwm and not compatible with the KK. The original ESCs fit nice and out of site at the end of the booms and the wires inside the boom. I got regular ESCs and they had to be mounted on the booms themselves.

With a 3s, 50% d/r on roll/pitch, -20 expo, it's scary stable. Now, you put a 4s and full rates and the thing screams. My only gripe is the CF skids...they are too fragile for skids and wish they were aluminum. I'm still getting used to orientation with these multicopters...seems to be the hardest part. Coming from flying helos for well over a decade these things need a canopy and a tail rotor to see which way they are going. I wish the front props where orange. Oh, and another thing that bites is that you have to use oem propellers because the prop hubs (part of the motor housing) are not circular. You are stuck buying oem propellers unles you somehow machine the hubs.


murcielago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 10:50 PM
  #16
pilot001
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: QuzhouZhejiang, CHINA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XNDU0OTcyMzcy.html check the Video here , 20 mins flying   great
pilot001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:50 PM
  #17
autopilot
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 277
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

I just got the Bumblebee and after looking at the manual I'm abit confused about motor & prop setup. I have a KK2 with the ST1038 &Pprops. Are all motors hooked up normally because the manual has two motors spinning opposite the other two. And they have to have certain props to go with certain motors, too, but what's the proper combo?



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu61829.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	1835590  
autopilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 04:25 AM
  #18
murcielago
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad


Quote:
ORIGINAL: autopilot

I just got the Bumblebee and after looking at the manual I'm abit confused about motor & prop setup. I have a KK2 with the ST1038 & P props. Are all motors hooked up normally because the manual has two motors spinning opposite the other two. And they have to have certain props to go with certain motors, too, but what's the proper combo?



Two motors will run normally (CCW) and two motors will run backwards (CW). You can reverse rotation via the ESC, if available, or just switch any two of the three leads coming out of your motors. You will need two regular props (CCW) and two reverse props (CW). If you look at the motor layout on your kk2, it will show the same as the diagram you showed. Make sure your kk2 has the latest firmware and load the correct layout. I have several kk2s and with the latest firmware, it has flown tricopters and quadcopters with very little tweaking. Very nice board for the money.
murcielago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:32 PM
  #19
RC_Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sutter Creek, CA
Posts: 973
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

Trying to go to the site but it appears, then is replaced by a site selling shoes! [:@]
RC_Fanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:54 PM
  #20
parkguy
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bumble Bee Quad

Here is a Video I just shot as people are having problems with the 1.04 firmware update
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kCGXG4EctY[/youtube]
parkguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 06:19 AM
  #21
SigMan
 
SigMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boonville, IN
Posts: 1,149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

just read the Born To Fly article in the March 2014 issue of AMA and Jim T Graham shows off his new Bumblebee. i tried to avoid this quadcopter bug, but now i have been bitten.
SigMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:41 AM.