Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 198

  1. #26
    randall1959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    saint joseph, MO
    Posts
    1,144
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Actually if you connect all four, it's not 20v as they are parallel and not in series. You can hook 200 batteries up in parallel and the only thing that changes is the amperage. Now if you do it in series, it goes up exponentially.
    I meant to do that.........

  2. #27

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tondela, PORTUGAL
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    So do you think we get more amps by connecting all esc's? Or still the same 2 amps. I'm planning to test fly my gimbal on the frame this weekend and i don't have Ubec. hasn't arrived yet. Anyone tested this before? Don't intent to fly for long or to high but just test movement of gimbal.
    It all started with red biplane

  3. #28
    randall1959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    saint joseph, MO
    Posts
    1,144
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    I honestly can't help but think that we get more amps by hooking them up. I have found that all the red wires are run together as well as all the grounds. That leads me to believe that it increases the amperage.
    If you have a multi meter set it to ohms and touch the middle lead on M1 and the middle lead on M8 and you will see the resistence drop to "zero"
    That tells me that all 8 pins are connected. I know that some say that one esc gets hotter than the others but that might also be the "weaker" one and it's taking a little feedback from the others. It might also just be the first one sending the current or the last one.
    I'm waiting on some parts that should be here tomorrow. Then I will do some flying and taking some measurements.
    I meant to do that.........

  4. #29

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
    Posts
    93

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


    ORIGINAL: randall1959

    .....all 8 pins are connected. ....
    you are absolutely correct that alleight +5V and Gnd pins are connected... however, it is the characteristic of thepower regulator (bec) inside each of the ESC thatbids against each other so that only one is able to pumpout the current...and is also the reason why we should nevermix different types of bec/esc together because of different characteristics....

    cmPang

  5. #30
    nebstress's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    31
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Hi cmpang, would that be why one of my ESC's is always hotter than the others?

  6. #31
    randall1959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    saint joseph, MO
    Posts
    1,144
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Thanks for the explanation Mr Pang.
    I meant to do that.........

  7. #32

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    35
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Would the current going in matter? Surely the electronics of the board only draw the current it needs from the BECs when its running?

  8. #33

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
    Posts
    93

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


    ORIGINAL: nebstress

    Hi cmpang, would that be why one of my ESC's is always hotter than the others?

    Yes it is why only one ESC will get hot due to the bec..

    cmPang

  9. #34

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Blodgett, OR
    Posts
    19
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Thanks for the reply, Randall
    I figured as much, although I don't understand why it wouldn't work.
    Thanks again
    Jerry



    ORIGINAL: Jerry Campbell

    Hi Randall,
    I'm looking at the Rabbit controller for my first Quad build for FPV. I am also looking at the Cyclops Nova OSD.
    My question is can I hook up the Nova OSD between the receiver and the Rabbit FC and use the RTH feature on the OSD.
    Thanks
    Jerry
    I'm pretty sure you can't. At least I've never seen one yet that is using an osd of any kind. The gps on the rabbit allready has a rth function. I'm not using gps on mine or an osd so I'm afraid I'm not much help in that regard.
    Mine has sonar, barometric height hold and autolanding. I'm using my rabbit quad to haul a camera at low levels.
    [/quote]

  10. #35
    randall1959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    saint joseph, MO
    Posts
    1,144
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Personally, since the rabbit allready has everything but an osd, I'd go with the Cyclops Easy OSD. The Rabbit allready has built in stabilizing, RTH, auto land, and everything you need to maintain control.
    I meant to do that.........

  11. #36

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Blodgett, OR
    Posts
    19
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    I agree with you, that was my original plan but I thought for an extra $15 it might be nice to have the extra features if I ever needed to use it on a plane.
    Jerry
    ORIGINAL: randall1959

    Personally, since the rabbit allready has everything but an osd, I'd go with the Cyclops Easy OSD. The Rabbit allready has built in stabilizing, RTH, auto land, and everything you need to maintain control.

  12. #37
    randall1959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    saint joseph, MO
    Posts
    1,144
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    I don't see any reason you couldn't just run it without the controls going through it. You'll still have all your information without using the plane controls. It's powered from your video gear anyway.
    I meant to do that.........

  13. #38
    randall1959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    saint joseph, MO
    Posts
    1,144
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    I'll be able to do some more testing after today finally. I'd been having one motor getting very hot and swapped motors and still have the same M# doing the same thing so I've come to the conclusion that it was an esc. I got an esc which will be here today and also a new programming card. I'm going to do some testing with different timing settings. I'm going to figure out what the optimal setup is as far as esc settings.
    I've also made heatsinks for all my esc's out of aluminum channel. Went to radio shack and got some heatsink adhesive also. I'll post videos and my findings as soon as I get this underway.
    I meant to do that.........

  14. #39
    nebstress's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    31
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Hi Randall, I've just received my new motors & ESC's through the post this morning so I was all set up to start building today only one prob now, I didn't check whether I had enough connectors & the right AWG cable & unfortunatly just a little bit short so ordered today so hopefully (please,please,please) will be delivered tomorow.
    This will be for the Rabbit that arrived the other day.

    I hope that all works out for you with the new ESC, I am interested to hear your results with testing different timing! I always have had mine set to middle but have recently thought about experimenting.



    EDIT; Oh by the way I watched your "Multirotor madness..." video the other day & liked it very much


  15. #40

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
    Posts
    93

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.



    as confirmed by the development team, there is a bug in 1.208 and 1.209 in altitude hold mode............ if you have no baro (or you have not checked the baro in GUI), then the altitude hold will not work even if you have enable the sonar...



    they will provide a fix soonest possible...



    cmPang


  16. #41

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
    Posts
    93

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    something interesting...

    http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=14575486718

    cmPang

  17. #42
    randall1959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    saint joseph, MO
    Posts
    1,144
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


    ORIGINAL: cmpang

    something interesting...

    http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=14575486718

    cmPang
    Too bad I don't read Chinese...........
    I meant to do that.........

  18. #43
    nebstress's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    31
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    this is for the same thing only a bit more english, not much more.
    www.yoybuy.com/en/show/14575486718/

    Looks interesting, I am going to try & geta couple if I can.

  19. #44
    randall1959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    saint joseph, MO
    Posts
    1,144
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Well, last night I did some testing and have come to the conclusion that at least on mine, the quad performs better with timing set to "high"
    It seems a lot smoother and no erratic running.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=doP-duIg5q0
    I meant to do that.........

  20. #45

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
    Posts
    93

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.



    Rabbits happy together....



    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3m4unVhSggU



    cmPang


  21. #46

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    AdejeCanarias, SPAIN
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Hi all.

    Some of you know me from other forums.

    I would like to introduce myself to the others.

    I´m a multicopter fanatic, and I´ve been using/testing the rabbit flight controller since it´s beginnings, falling in love with this board.

    A few months ago I had a discussion with a "famous" user in the multirotor scene who was affirming in one of his attacks that this board was nos suitable for a professional AP platform.

    After a lot of work and many works done with my ConHexo 950 rabbit equipped hexacopter I think that me with the help of the gentle rabbit community have proven that he was wrong, as he is still is wrong in many other things

    You can see my works, videos and tests on my youtube channel:

    www.youtube.com/user/supermotoalex/videos


    The last months I´ve been working on a big 1000mm Octocopter, the ConnOcto 1000 with the rabbit controller.

    Here I leave you a video with yesterday´s test:

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uc1v9yQgK6c&feature=plcp[/youtube]


  22. #47
    nebstress's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    31
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Hi apejovic,

    I have watched several of your videos & think they are great, amazing work & I love your Octocopter!

    I think its great that you are using the Rabbit for more serious flying & quite brave of you to take the plunge in that direction.

    Welcome to the forum!

  23. #48

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    AdejeCanarias, SPAIN
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


    ORIGINAL: nebstress

    Hi apejovic,

    I have watched several of your videos & think they are great, amazing work & I love your Octocopter!

    I think its great that you are using the Rabbit for more serious flying & quite brave of you to take the plunge in that direction.

    Welcome to the forum!
    Thank you very much.


  24. #49

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
    Posts
    93

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.



    AP for my model battleships...



    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZKKJ4wcHxg



    cmPang


  25. #50
    nebstress's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    31
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

    Thats great cmpang, I liked your "Rabbits happy together..." video as well, very good!

    What is the camera your using on your Tricopter?


Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:36 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.